THE LAST EXERCISE

3 Sep

My Monday morning gazelle time is the last bit of cardio you are going to see for a bit which makes me sad but I also know it’s not for long and I’ll do whatever is best for the baby! (If you don’t know what I am talking about, refer to The Unexpected Ultrasound post from a few days ago.) So Monday started off typically with that and breakfast and then Vicki came in the morning because our doctor’s appointment was an early one. All the details on that are in the afore-mentioned post.

After our visit we got subs from Subway and I went back to work for the rest of the day. I also got things cleaned up for Bible study, planned the lesson for it since it was my night to teach AND put a meal in the crockpot! Luckily Zach had been a huge help during the morning in prepping all my ingredients so all I had to do was throw everything together. 🙂 I was making turkey meatloaf from Fix-It and Forget-It and basically you just mix a buuuunch of stuff together and shape it into a loaf.

  • lean ground turkey
  • eggs
  • ketchup
  • worcestershire sauce
  • basil
  • salt
  • pepper
  • onion
  • potato
  • red pepper
  • bread crumbs

IMG_2558 IMG_2559

It looks like a mess and it pretty much is but stick it in the crockpot and magic happens! Near the end of the day I made a version of this Watermelon-Cucumber Salad to accompany it. Mine was just basically watermelon, cucumber, mint and lemon juice with the other stuff excluded.

IMG_2560

Right before Bible study I made a worcestershire + ketchup sauce that went on top of my meatloaf and then I presented my “Jesus Walks on Water” story via flannel board. 🙂 Each week someone is in charge of presenting a story and then we all go over facts, meaning, application and actions and it’s fun to see the different ways the story is put out there. Of course mine was very preschool-teacherly. I even passed out candy for correct answers, haha.

Once everyone had gone home Zach and I ran an errand and I expressed my sadness at not being able to go for a walk when it looked like such a nice evening out! We came home to eat our dinner which seemed like a strange pairing but it was all very good!

IMG_2563 IMG_2564

I especially loved the watermelon, it is an underutilized fruit at my house and it’s soooo good! I need to make it a habit to eat more before the season is up. Luckily there is a lot leftover in my fridge now…

IMG_2562

We ate along with The Office and I can’t for the life of me remember what we did after!! Perhaps worked in the nursery some? Zach had been working at getting baby stuff ready all throughout the day including getting the car seats put in both cars! At any rate I’m pretty sure we went to bed early-ish because as always I am tired by that point of the night!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – waffle w/PB, banana
  • Lunch – 6 inch ww veggie sub
  • Supper – turkey meatloaf, watermelon-cucumber salad, 1 pc. cake

Tuesday morning I…did not do my gazelle. Which is a weird thing to type! Other than that I had a normal day and workday. One of my daycare kids brought “me and the baby” a doughnut for breakfast, how could I say no? 🙂 I’d gotten some things ready for the dinner I was going to make that night when Dad called and said he needed Zach’s help with some heavy lifting and if we came down to do that he’d take us to dinner after. Again, you never say no to that!

First though Zach and I had an appointment after work for car seat inspections. We took both cars over and got our seats thoroughly checked out and received several good car-seat pointers. Definitely a worthwhile thing to do! Dad’s “heavy lifting” was a gorgeous brand-new fire pit for the back patio and now it’s all finally back to normal (well nicer than before actually) after all the horrific tree damage from months ago.

I was really, really hungry for dinner which isn’t typical and when Dad asked where we wanted to go I blurted out, “Pizza King!”. I didn’t count my pieces or anything but I know I ate more than I typically can so the two of us must have been hungry! Zach and I went to Target to return a few duplicates and buy anything that was left on our registry that was in store. We get a nice 15% off for buying items that we registered for that don’t get bought so with that plus gift cards we didn’t spend a dime!

Home to read to Izzy and crash at the end of another busy day.

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – plum, doughnut
  • Lunch – salad, watermelon-cucumber salad
  • Supper – 2 1/2 breadsticks, Pizza King pizza 

I’ll stop complaining after this post, but not doing the gazelle in the mornings is killing me! You’d think I would have more energy but I really end up with less when I don’t get as much movement in. I did however enjoy my oatmeal with blueberries quite a bit.

Had another day of work punctuated with getting baby things done. It’s hard to work or do much of anything else when all that is dominating my mind is “She’s coming, she’s coming!”. 🙂 After work Zach and I got the shelves up in her nursery, hung her bow organizer and figured out her incredibly awesome and high-tech video monitor system. Then we went to Mom and Dad’s to be fed one of my favorite meals of taco salad and cheesy spaghetti. Delicious despite my appetite being back to it’s usual can’t-finish-my-whole-plate.

Guess what we did back at home? More nursery stuff!! We’re seriously full steam ahead. When we finally wound down for the evening we watched some of Insurgent and had ice cream before calling it a night. I hit 37 weeks on this day – that’s a full-term baby!!!

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – oatmeal w/blueberries
  • Lunch – open-faced ww egg salad “sandwich”
  • Supper – taco salad, chips w/dip, cheesy spaghetti, 1 scoop ice cream

471.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

