MANGO MOUTH

22 Aug

Does that sound like a cute title? Because it’s not cute. Not cute at all. In fact, it looks a bit like this…

IMG_2202 IMG_2203 IMG_2205

Except the pictures don’t even do it justice. It’s also on my eyes, near my hairline, on both cheeks and under my chin. So here’s the deal. I go to sleep Thursday night and wake up Friday morning with my mouth covered in little sores (much like before in June) and it’s extended around my mouth and even out onto my cheeks. I am thinking, there is NO WAY these are just cold sores! So I start playing Google doctor and research and research until a word jumps out at me a couple of times – mango. I look further into the stuff talking about mango allergies and suddenly the pictures I am seeing are exactly me. The descriptions are spot on.

Thanks to my obsessive meticulous food journaling and regular journaling (I have a handwritten journal outside of my blog) I am able to track the other two times since pregnancy that I’ve had “cold sores”. I found the dates they started and looked up corresponding dates in my food journal and guess what? I had a mango each time the MORNING of the day that these started. Every. Single. Time. So good to know I don’t have the herpes virus and have never had a cold sore and good to know I am allergic to mangoes but that doesn’t help the right here and now.

So what’s up with mangoes? Well apparently the peel contains “urushiol” which is the same sap found in poison ivy and poison oak. Guess who was highly allergic to poison ivy as a kid? Did you guess me? When this comes into contact with your skin it can cause an allergic reaction much like that of poison ivy with the bumps, the redness, the itching, the swelling, etc. Each time I have gotten this it has been progressively worse and I have a feeling pregnancy is somewhat to blame. I ate mangoes (though not frequently) before I got pregnant and this never happened. Since getting pregnant though my skin is infinitely more sensitive and irritable. Second only to the hives, this is the WORST thing I’ve had. It’s so uncomfortable and itchy and painful and downright exhausting. It also isn’t all that fast at healing…

So Friday my mouth was incredibly bad all day long. I still did my gazelle but I struggled through the workday and I didn’t eat a whole lot because 1) this reaction takes my appetite totally away and 2) it’s super hard to eat anything because opening your mouth wide hurts and makes you itch. When the workday was finally done I spent the evening doing a lot of nothing. Zach got me soup from Panera and I counted down the minutes until 9pm when I could take some Benadryll and go to bed, hoping to be completely knocked out and get a good night’s sleep and wake up at least marginally better the next day!

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – blueberries
  • Lunch – 1 pc. pizza
  • Supper – bowl of soup w/a little bread

458 miles.

 

4 Responses to “MANGO MOUTH”

  1. Sarah August 24, 2015 at 10:15 am #

    I’ve never had mango mouth, but a friend of mine got it when she ate the mango straight off the rind. I guess the flesh of the fruit doesn’t have that much (if any) urushiol in it.

    • Jordan August 24, 2015 at 11:37 am #

      That’s what I’ve read although I’ve got to say I think I will be avoiding mango in ALL forms for a bit…

      • Sarah August 24, 2015 at 7:29 pm #

        Probably a good idea!

  2. hungryforbalance August 25, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    A Mango allergy!!!???!!! That is ridiculously horrible! I am so sorry! On a slightly related note, good for you for being able to figure it out!! I hate this for you!

Leave a Reply

