NO-BAKE CHEESECAKE

5 Aug

Already into the first week of August…it will be September before we know it, eee!

Monday dawned another work week with my rather small group after I lost one to kindergarten. I need to fill one spot for my fall roster but haven’t been successful so far. So began an easy day with my small class. I did the gazelle and was thrilled when I remembered that I’d purchased whole-wheat waffles to change up my breakfast rotation this week. It’s the little things. 🙂

The day went by quickly and I was really looking forward to the evening. Zach and I had decided that it needed to be both productive and fun. It had been forever since we’d had a whole evening to ourselves and we wanted to make a little date out of it, after some work was done first of course. So Zach went out to his grandpa’s to cut some boards and finished putting the wood up on the nursery wall. I took a fast shower, picked out a simple dessert to make later and ran to the store to get ingredients. By the time we finished up our individual chores it was a little later than desired but we made the best of it!

First to dinner at Puerto because I let my husband decide. 🙂 I wasn’t all that hungry and subbed a salad for my usual enchilada to get baby some more veggies in. I really do eat a lot of salads I feel like! Next was a 20 minute neighborhood walk – always a good point of the day getting to walk and hold hands and talk. Then, because Zach had suggested we make a treat together, we got started on the dessert I had found – a No Bake S’mores Cheesecake from a blog. I picked it both for it’s ease and quickness as well as the fact that it looked like a combination we both loved. Refer to the recipe if you want to know exactly how it’s made!

First we made the graham cracker crust, gotta love the efficiency of a food processor…

IMG_2010

 

Then this was pressed into a pan and put in the freezer while we made the filling from vanilla, powdered sugar, cream cheese and softened marshmallows.

IMG_2012

 

Filling went onto the crust and it was all topped with melted Hershey bars.

IMG_2014

Even though she said it’s good to eat it immediately when the chocolate was warm, I think she let hers set and chill before she took her perfect pictures because when I served this up, it just fell apart!

IMG_2015

Haha and the crust is on top because it hadn’t chilled enough and it basically crumbled so I sprinkled it on. Zach liked this really well but I didn’t love it, I just thought it was fine. Thankfully I found out the next day that it tasted much better after being chilled in the fridge!

We ate and watched House and that was our little week-night “date”!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – banana, ww waffle w/PB
  • Lunch – potatoes w/bbq, blueberries
  • Supper – salad, chips & queso, 1 pc. cheesecake

Good sleep Monday night made for a productive Tuesday. Just as I repeat the gazelle every morning, my waffle with peanut butter was repeated as well. 🙂 I went through the first half of the day like normal and then Zach and I were off for a doctor’s appointment during nap-time. Only one more 2 week break before the next one and then they start coming every. single. week. It was a quick one and all seemed to be well! Always nice to get in there and hear Isabelle’s heartbeat.

Back at work the day finished out quickly, even if I did get off about 13 minutes late. I really had to rush to get to MCL to meet my family on time. We were having a dinner because some of our family from Colorado was in and a good group of us showed up!

IMG_2022

Unfortunately Zach had to miss it because he already had plans to be gone with a friend but when dinner was over and I got back home I found him already there and the crib all put together!! His plans had finished a good deal earlier than mine and he was quite productive. SO glad to have that one checked off the list, eee! Almost to the point where I can make a nursery post for you guys…

We didn’t do much besides chill out with Netflix before another day was closing out and it was bedtime once again.

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – ww waffle w/PB, grapes
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – salad, 1/2 pc. fish, sm. mac & cheese, sm. broccoli, 1/2 roll

426.5 miles.

One Response to “NO-BAKE CHEESECAKE”

  1. Michelle Medlin August 5, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

    Haha. Yes, I did chill it before taking pictures to ensure I had nice clean lines, but we also really loved all messy and gooey, classic S’mores style. Glad you both enjoyed it one way or another! 😉

Leave a Reply

