FIESTA FOR YOUR MOUTH

18 Jun

Last day of work before our mini-vacation!! So excited for this weekend and quality time with my husband. 🙂

Tuesday I really wanted pancakes but felt to lazy to make them completely from scratch and I STILL need to make a trip to the Amish store to stock up on several things, including my favorite pancake mix. So all that to say I made myself a slice of whole wheat french toast instead haha! I also did the gazelle and watched the children and watched the rain come down. Day two inside.

Due to scheduling conflicts, we ended up deciding to have dinner at Mom and Dad’s this night instead of Wednesday so after work and a shower we went over there and I managed to get 19 minutes on the bike in before dinner. Mom made some kind of casserole that had cheese and salsa and green chiles and hamburger and tortilla chips and probably other stuff that was really delicious! I had planned on riding my other 11 minutes of bike time after we ate but Mom and Dad had other ideas. They had us take them on a drive and we ended up at a small car dealership in front of a midnight blue jeep that turned out to be their new car!!! I wish I’d had my camera! Their yellow camaro is not exactly baby-friendly and they wanted a dependable bigger vehicle for family travel (can you say family vacations?!) that all 5 of us can fit in and that would be a good permanent place to put the car seat; somewhere easy to put the baby in and out of. It was really nice, in great condition and they were so pleased with their little surprise. 🙂 Everybody is getting ready for baby girl’s arrival! They are actually taking this whole next week off work to use vacation time to go rummage sale-ing for baby furniture, clothes and the like and setting up the nursery in their house.

Zach and I ran to Target to add a few last things to our registry and then out to Lowe’s for yet another gray paint sample. Picking a gray for the nursery walls is proving to be a formidable task! Finally with only about a half hour left before bed we got to relax with Netflix and kid-sized ice creams. I barely blinked before it was time to go to sleep and do it all again the next day.

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 pc. french toast, nectarine
  • Lunch – banana w/PB, veg. soup
  • Supper – salad, taco casserole, mini ice cream

Day 4 of the rain. We have had sun interspersed as well, some days that are really more sun than rain even but the problem is that there has been so much rain the ground is too saturated to take the kids out even when it’s sunny. Which is tough for everybody involved! Gazelle and a typical workday with a crockpot meal creation thrown in. Nap-time found me chopping these peppers-

IMG_1175

For the recipe Pepper Jack Chicken, torn out of a Taste of Home but unfortunately I couldn’t find the recipe online. It was easy though! I put my sliced rainbow of peppers into the crockpot-

IMG_1177

Then cut raw chicken into chunks and threw it in followed by salsa, chili powder and a can of fiesta nacho cheese soup (because I could NOT find the pepper jack soup at any store!). Re-name the recipe Fiesta Chicken and turn the crockpot on low for the afternoon. I got off work 17 minutes late which wasn’t in the game plan and had to run out the door to get to the other side of town and have my TB test checked. Thankfully I got my brown rice on the stove in time to cook during that. (Still using this awesome brown rice recipe!) It was wonderful to have dinner ready and smelling delicious when I walked back in the door and Zach and I immediately dished it up to eat.

IMG_1183

I am sure the pepper jack soup would have been delicious but let me say that the fiesta cheese soup tasted just great to us!

IMG_1184

It was almost like eating a southwestern curry over rice because the mixture in the crockpot had gotten so liquidy even though no water was added. The various peppers made up a good quotient of veggies and the whole thing only needed a little pepper to make it perfect.

IMG_1185

You know what we did after dinner? Went to Lowes. For another paint sample. I have gray paint samples coming out of my ears!!! Literally, we have tried 5 grays. THANKFULLY we loved this one and our decision has been made! I was starting to feel like I was on a sitcom… Some House, some snacks and then bedtime. Another day closer to meeting our daughter. 🙂

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – oatmeal w/blueberries
  • Lunch – open-faced bean burger, nectarine
  • Supper – chx. and veggies w/rice, cupcake

335 miles.

2 Responses to “FIESTA FOR YOUR MOUTH”

  1. Kim | Peeled Wellness June 19, 2015 at 9:51 am #

    We’re thinking about registering at target too- it seems like a much more reasonable option compared to other places. Did you have a good experience with them? Thanks for sharing!
    Kim | http://peeledwellness.com

    • Jordan June 20, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

      We definitely did! Anything I wanted that I couldn’t find in the store I was able to add online to my registry which was very helpful, plus anything you register for that doesn’t get purchased you will get something like 20% off for a few months after due date.

Leave a Reply

