EATING GETS WEIRD FOR ME

14 Jun

Thursday began a strange relationship with eating that still hasn’t went away as of right now (Sunday). Usually you hear about pregnant women being insatiably hungry. Well I think I skipped over that stage and went straight to the stage of “eat just a couple of bites and you are stuffed, eat any more and you’ll have indigestion for the next few hours”. Breakfast was normal on Thursday, did gazelle, worked, etc. Then at lunch-time I was just NOT. HUNGRY. I knew I had to eat something, anything, and finally made myself have an apple with peanut butter which made me feel way fuller than a simple apple ever does.

I did feel a little hungrier after work and ate the other half of that huge southwest salad from Concannon’s along with some strawberries but then felt incredibly full the next couple of hours! Unfortunately Zach and I didn’t get to spend any time together really. He was busy in the nursery and then went to play disc golf with the guys before going to watch an NBA finals game with them. Though he did miss part of the game to come home and cuddle for a few minutes and tell Izzy and I goodnight which I didn’t know he was going to do. 🙂 I took myself to the Greenway for a 36 minute walk and then watched Parenthood while trying to eat the small ice cream I had picked up because I thought I wanted it before giving up and taking myself off to bed by 9 because I was exhausted!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 pc. of toast w/egg, cherries
  • Lunch – apple w/PB
  • Supper – salad, strawberries, small ice cream

I think maybe some allergies have been in effect this week that are messing with things as well because every day of the week I didn’t sleep the best, woke up more and more exhausted and had nasal congestion. The wiped-out, exhausted feeling is reminiscent of every year when there are a few weeks I struggle with allergies, though it’s usually in the early spring. Friday I was the most tired I’d been all week and was SO thankful it was almost the weekend.

It didn’t help that the kids, even though I had a small group, were quite the little terrors that day! It really was a day of making myself do things – didn’t want to work out because I felt wiped but did the gazelle anyway; didn’t want to eat but made myself breakfast and later lunch to choke down (though I ate my sausage without a bun and only managed half the veggies before getting really full). Nap-time was an absolute mess because we had booming thunderstorms and all the kids were awake almost a whole hour before it was time to get up. This was NOT a good thing. I ended up having to move several kids into the house and it was not a good time of  rest for them or a break for me! Cue more exhaustion. On top of that it meant no outdoor recess and these kids had some serious pent-up energy. Did I mention how glad I was that it was Friday?

No post-work work-out because I needed to shower and dry my hair in time for Zach and I to go meet his family for a birthday dinner for his grandpa at a new Mexican place down on campus. As always it was no Puerto, but was still pretty good. I got a tossed salad (ate half) and a shrimp taco that was good and had chips and queso. Zach and I didn’t finish our queso which is highly unusual but I was filling up beyond my full point and he had ordered a couple of different things to try. At dinner I was fine but then the whole rest of the night at home I had stomach pain and the worst indigestion and I’m positive it was all from eating more than I could handle (even though that was less than I would usually eat!). It made for an uncomfortable evening and we watched House on the couch while I constantly moved positions to try to create space in my stomach. That baby must be growing! We finally went to bed and I was somewhat apprehensive about the night’s sleep ahead…

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – oatmeal w/strawberries
  • Lunch – chicken sausage, broccoli and cauliflower w/cheese
  • Supper – chips & salsa w/queso, 1/2 salad, shrimp taco

325 miles.

Leave a Reply

