WHILE CHRISTINE WAS HERE

12 Jun

Getting up Monday morning was nowhere near as painful as getting up on a typical Monday. “Why?” you ask? Weeeellll I got to sleep a whole extra 25 minutes (which is huge!) due to my earliest kid of the day being out on vacation, I had a doctor’s appointment to attend again finally that afternoon and then I had the rest of the day off to get to spend with Christine!

Between gazelle, breakfast, normal Monday stuff and daycare the first half of the day flew by. Then Vicki came to relieve me, and Zach, Christine and I all headed to the OBGYN. Zach waited for us in the waiting room while Christine got to join me and hear Izzy’s heartbeat. Thankful for another good appointment for my little girl. 🙂 As we drove back to Muncie we contemplated what we should do, as there isn’t exactly a wealth of options, and I’m the one who suggested we all go out to Tonne. Why do I keep doing that? Haha. It’s just what I would do if the circumstances were normal and therefore figured it would be the most fun thing for them! We all three talked and laughed while they drank their traminette and I tried to remember the taste of riesling. 😉

IMG_1111 IMG_1117 IMG_1130

Afterwards Christine and I did our nails while Zach had to go pick up some wood pallets for a nursery project (!!) before dinner time.

There is an elderly couple who lives in Yorktown who Christine has always been close with and visits every time she returns. They are like her surrogate grandparents. Their names are Lee and Pat and Zach and I have met them before, I’ve even went to dinner with them with Christine in the past. She and I drove out to their house and visited briefly before the 4 of us drove to Pizza King where Zach met us a little later. They treated us to dinner and tons of stories and reminiscences. Such a sweet and genuine couple, married over 60 years, who I am glad to have the pleasure of knowing through Christine!

11393224_10205753084884272_6824114472901865753_n

We didn’t chat long at the house after because we had some plans to see out before the threatening rains came. Out we went to the now over-grown golf course that is not currently open but Zach’s parents still own (and are selling) where Nick met us for some putt putt.

IMG_1134 IMG_1136

The skies were ominous and I think we only got 5 or 6 hilarious holes in before Zach said we needed to GO.

IMG_1141 IMG_1142

We’d barely left in our cars when everything opened up and it poured rain in a deluge. So what else to do but go back home and visit? Our toad friend even came back! He was literally hopping at the door wanting inside, ha! Poor thing must have nowhere better than our front porch during a storm. I didn’t make it too terribly long as it was well past Izzy’s Jordan’s bed-time.

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – nectarine, 1 sl. tst w/PB
  • Lunch – cherries, carrots & dip
  • Supper – 1 1/2 breadsticks, pizza

Tuesday was Christine’s last full day here but I also had a full day of work. I combined my usual gazelle and straightening the house and watching kids with also hanging out with her and talking. Once the day wrapped up we were hungry and along with Zach went straight to Thai Smile for dinner. I felt like I was starving when I got my food and then after just a few bites of the enormous amount of rice + curry + pad thai I’d served on my plate I started realizing quickly that I was not going to be able to eat the mountain of food. So far I have yet to deal with the “insatiable hunger” part of pregnancy. Rather I generally don’t feel too terribly hungry or I get hungry and then fill up super fast. It’s strange! I managed to eat about half of my plate and that was it for me!

IMG_1149

Back at home it was a nice evening and Christine and I walked in the neighborhood together for about 25 minutes having deep heart-to-hearts that continued on the couch when we got back home. Then dissolved into having cheesecake and finishing the movie Lucy. 🙂 The movie was all right but the cheesecake was spot on like always! I got just a normal-sized piece this time but only ate a little less than half, probably because even though (at this point) it was hours after dinner, I still wasn’t hungry. Christine ate some too and yet we still had a small bit leftover. We relaxed and watched a little bit of Planet Earth before I had to call it a night and close out our lovely visit.

 

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – PB ww wrap, grapes
  • Lunch – large bowl of yogurt w/strawberries (didn’t have much food in the house!)
  • Supper – 1/2 my rice w/curry & pad thai, 1/2 pc. cheesecake

I feel like bullet pointing Wednesday. 🙂

  • Gazelle
  • Zach took Christine to the airport
  • A breakfast with a slightly bad choice of eating the last few bites of cheesecake…apparently I can’t handle having leftover cheesecake in the fridge in the morning!! Especially when I’m tired…
  • Workday
  • Zach brought me a huge half southwest salad from Concannons (veggies to counteract the cheesecake breakfast)
  • Nice afternoon outside with the kids
  • Ran to a DIY store with Zach that was having a sale on baby stuff but didn’t find anything good
  • To the parents to ride the bike for half an hour
  • Supper made by Mom (including noodles romanoff, one of my favorites!)
  • Bachelorette watching coupled with a small bowl of homemade strawberry shortcake that Mom made specifically for Zach since it’s one of his absolute favorites
  • Back home Zach works on the nursery (finished painting the closet, got up all the carpet and carpet pads) while I sat in there and worked on planning our baby moon trip to take place next weekend!
  • Bedtime because I was exhausted!

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – cherries, bites of cheesecake
  • Lunch – half a huge half salad
  • Supper – fish, pasta, pickled beets and eggs, strawberry shortcake

320.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

