VISITORS TO OUR HOME

9 Jun

Friday night I was finally able to get some solid sleep thanks to the Benadryl! I woke up much refreshed and ready for the weekend in the morning. While I cleaned the house some for company (which would come in two forms this weekend), Zach worked some around the house and in his office. I had a lovely hour of prenatal yoga and one of the girls in class was at 40 weeks and 2 days! Whew! We’ll see if I would still be able to show up in that same situation… There was barely time back at home to eat leftovers before our doula, Jenn, arrived. It was only my second meeting with her but I feel like I’ve known her forever. She just radiates that personality that makes you feel comfortable and at ease. I’ll write more on our visit in a baby post, but this time she got to meet Zach and the majority of the time was spent working on our birth plan. She’s a wealth of information and makes me feel so confident that I’ll be able to handle this birth the way I desire (barring any unforeseen circumstances of course).

After almost 2 hours she was back on her way and we were back to it. Zach was popping up trim and painting the baby’s closet and I took to the Greenway for a 31 minute walk. When we started getting hungry I produced some gift cards we’d nearly forgotten about for the Wedge- a local, grilled cheese shop in Yorktown! We’d only been one other time and our Bible study gave us the certificate as a Christmas gift and we’d not gotten around to using it yet. Unfortunately it wasn’t until we’d ordered and were sitting out the patio enjoying the warm weather that I realized my camera was at home. That didn’t make me too happy but what’s a girl to do!?

We got a cup of shrimp creole soup to share but I didn’t care for it so only tried a bite. Our sandwiches on the other hand were delicious! They come cut in half which makes it conveniently easy for Zach and I trade each other half of our sandwiches- variety how we like it. My grilled cheese was the Midnight Snack – colby jack, pepperjack, bacon, ham, tomato and mayo on Italian. Zach picked the State Fair – cheddar, mozzarella, bacon, grilled chicken, ranch on Italian. They were both good but I liked mine the best! I also liked my pickle on the side. 🙂

Later in the evening we had ice cream and watched Friends before I had to go to bed and Zach had to go to the airport to pick up Christine! She was flying in LATE at almost midnight and even though I told him multiple times that I could go or at the very least go with him, Zach insisted I go to bed and he’d do it. I say it often but only cause it’s true – sweetest guy ever. Who goes and gets his wife’s friend in the middle of the night at the airport so she can get her pregnant self to bed at a decent time? Zach, that’s who. So grateful!!

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – cherries + grapes, 1 slice tst. w/PB
  • Lunch – fish, cucumber salad
  • Supper – pickle, sandwich, ice cream sundae

Around 1:30am I was awakened by a guy crawling into my bed and snuggling up to me, letting me know that he and Christine had gotten home safely and he loved me. 🙂 I drifted back off and slept until it was time to get up and review my lesson I was teaching for church. All the classes moved up to their new grade level since the school year is done and I had a whole new group of kids. They were really fun and good and things went smoothly – I think I will like teaching them!

Kid’s grocery shopping after work and when I got home I was reunited with one of my best friends who I hadn’t seen in 6 months!!!

IMG_1104

This was our first time to be together since I’d gotten pregnant which made everything more special. We sat around just talking and catching up and then went for an hour long walk on the Greenway! We just walked and walked and even though it was a bit humid and sticky, we didn’t mind at all. After the heat we needed refreshments which came in the form of an afternoon margarita for Christine and a virgin daiquiri for me at Amazing Joe’s. We sat inside because it felt so nice and cool but we were freezing by the end! I also only drank about half my drink since I think they are just always too sweet and sugary when you order virgin.

My parent’s house was next so we could sit out on their back porch and enjoy the day without the full brunt of the oppressive air. Again time got away from us as we sat and talked for well over an hour. That’s pretty much what we do best when we’re together. 🙂 When we finally decided to hunt down dinner she ended up getting something to go from Outback and I went through the drive-thru at Dairy Queen. Not a choice I’d usually make and not one I plan on making again! I like the occasional ice cream from there but their food is just not desirable. We ate and started a movie called Lucy which we watched up until Zach texted us that there was a ton of lightning outside. We went on the front porch to watch and he was right! It was beautiful!! As soon as he pulled in the driveway we all hopped in the car and took a drive through the country to see the storms. It was totally an “us” thing for all three of us to do and we enjoyed it up until it was absolutely pouring and we returned home. I was getting ready to crash for the night when we found a little guest on our porch – a toad!

IMG_1106 IMG_1108

 

So of course we had to catch it and take pictures with it. 🙂 THEN it was truly time for bed!

Sunday’ Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – yogurt w/blue + straw.
  • Lunch – veg. spaghetti squash
  • Supper – bread, chicken fingers w/gravy, 2 mini blizzards

312.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

