BUY CHERRIES!

7 Jun

Reminder to self – buy cherries when they are in season! They are so delicious! My recipe Thursday night called for fresh cherries and I always know I like them but I couldn’t tell you the last time I specifically bought them. Perhaps in Hawaii on vacation several years ago?! Well thankfully my recipe only called for some of them and I have lots left over to just eat as I please.

I didn’t sleep well at ALL Wednesday night. I take back what I said about hemorrhoids…they don’t bother me during the day hardly but at night are so unbearably itchy that I got less than 4 hours of sleep total. It was a bit rough. I got up and at it though and did my gazelle and carried on with my day like usual. Thankfully it was a sunny afternoon and I we got to be outside a lot so that was a plus! I also got off work 25 minutes early which rarely happens so I was thrilled with that. I set right to work on dinner which wasn’t difficult. My side dish was going to be asparagus. Took my asparagus out of my veggie drawer…and it had gone bad. I hate when that happens and I hate wasting food. :/ Luckily I had frozen broccoli to serve as a back-up. Just steamed and seasoned with a little Shoups.

IMG_1099

Our main dish was Pork Medallions with Cherry Sauce from Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes. After trimming the fat from a pork tenderloin I cut it into 1 inch slices and pounded thin between plastic wrap.

IMG_1098

The pork cooked stovetop at the same time the broccoli steamed. I removed the meat and kept it warm between plates and poured a mixture of cranberry juice, cornstarch and spicy brown mustard into the hot skillet. Cook and stir continuously for several minutes until thickened then remove from heat and add sliced + pitted cherries.

IMG_1100

The sauce goes over the pork and it’s that simple and truly delicious!! This is a recipe that I would definitely repeat, we loved it! I would make even more of the sauce next time because it was that good.

IMG_1101

P.S. I took a picture of my nails when I was taking dinner photos because I said I wanted to share one! The polish is grown out a little since I’d painted them 6 days before but a) I love the do-it-yourself gel polish, it looks so nice and stays so well! and b) I love that my nails are longer and have a shape and I don’t bite them and all that!

IMG_1102

Parks and Rec accompanied dinner because we love watching something while we eat. 🙂 Then followed it up with a 35 minute walk on the Greenway. Our big excitement of the night though? Registering the baby at Target! Even though I had done a lot of research and took in a detailed list, it was still slightly overwhelming. Not nearly as much as it would have been otherwise though! We were there around an hour and I was completely exhausted by the end of it. And there were multiple things we couldn’t even register for because they are online only so I have to get online and register for them!! It’s quite the process but I feel one step closer to being ready for our little girl…

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – yogurt w/strawberries
  • Lunch – big veggie spaghetti squash
  • Supper – broccoli, pork medallions

Then Thursday night was the worst one yet (with my latest ailment that is). Unbearable itchiness and I couldn’t fall asleep until sometime after midnight then was awake again around 2 for another hour or so and then tossed and turned the rest of the night. It was bad. Come Friday morning I was completely exhausted and dead set on taking a benadryl that night to help me get some sleep. I knew if I had another night like that one I’d have a mental breakdown!

I did the gazelle anyway though and my sweet husband made himself french toast and made me a slice too, without me even asking. 🙂 I dragged through the day with the help of half of a cupcake in the afternoon that a kid brought for their birthday haha. I had a full class with some older kids out for the summer who came but thankfully it wasn’t too difficult and we spent allll afternoon outdoors. I showered right after work and then went to Mom’s to show her our registry and watch a little more Bachelorette. Daddy was nice enough to go pick us all up some dinner and we ate out on their back patio (Zach was at a 6-8 dinner meeting with some guys from church). Zach joined us when he was done and we enjoyed the pleasant evening outside with some conversation until I decreed we needed to go home and walk before I was just too wiped out to do it!

We took off in our neighborhood for what I expected to be a shorter walk but we got back onto streets we don’t usually walk and it was something fun and different enough that we ended up being out there for over 40 minutes. At home we finished all that we could watch of Parks and Rec on Netflix and started our new comedy – Friends. Yes, we have never seen Friends before. I’ve got to say, not totally sold after the first episode but I know it’s such a cult favorite and was obviously popular for a reason so we’re going to give it a shot. Besides, typically pilot episodes and sometimes whole first seasons aren’t a good picture of how a show actually turns out to be. I popped a benadryl before bed and prayed for the best!

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – cherries + grapes, 1 sl. ww french toast
  • Lunch – salad, 1/2 cupcake
  • Supper – salad, chicken w/mushrooms, mashed potatoes

308.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

