SUMMER ON A SANDWICH

20 May

I am always fine with kicking off the week with a smaller group of kids and that’s just what happened Monday! With kids out for various reasons I ended up only having 6 which was a welcome break. I need to have a Monday checklist that always says a variation of gazelle, watch kids, clean for Bible study, etc. etc. Because that’s what my day looked like! It was a HOT day out but unfortunately really cloudy so we didn’t get a lot of sun outside but being out there at all is better than nothing. The temps made for a very hot and sweaty 1 mile run when I got off and I think it was even harder to breathe than normal; and it’s already pretty hard to breathe haha! I did it though in about 10 1/2 minutes which is an accomplishment these days. I think I am liking cranking one mile out each week before Bible study because I can still get a workout in but it’s a quick one and I can just step out in my neighborhood and go. I haven’t set foot in the gym in ages!!

We got into some serious prophecy and timelines of various battles and such in Isaiah this week which may sound boring but it was really great knowledge. It’s nice to chew over each verse individually and really discern what it’s saying and why that was important. Not every single thing is just a lesson to be learned, a lot of times they are important pieces of history too that we need to know about! I had a dinner to make for Monday night but we never went to the grocery for ourselves so we ended up getting breakfast for dinner which was fun. 🙂 Us + breakfast + House capped off the night.

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – oatmeal w/blueberries
  • Lunch – broccoli & cauliflower w/cheese, banana w/PB
  • Supper – 2 eggs, 1 sl. tst, 1 1/2 sausage links, hashbrowns, french toast

The small group trend not only continued but even went down one by Tuesday! Zach went to the grocery for me first thing in the morning so I could fix us meals this week and I gazelled away and had another very easy day of daycare. Albeit a chillier one, we had to wear jackets outside and that hasn’t happened in a few weeks. The recipe for the night involved lots of fresh veggies and I love seeing my vegetable basket so colorful and full!

IMG_0790

It was a vegetarian meal kind of night (which I like to do at least a couple of times a week, on the weeks I get much cooking in that is!) with Roasted Vegetable Focaccia Sandwiches from a Pampered Chef cookbook. I haven’t made anything out of that one for some time but the recipes are almost always good! There wasn’t a whole lot of ahead-of-time prep work to do so at nap time I just chopped and sliced. Sliced up eggplant, zucchini, tomato, fresh mozzarella and chopped a couple of cloves of garlic.

IMG_0791

After work I tossed the eggplant, zucchini and garlic with a little olive oil, salt and pepper and popped it all in the oven to roast while I got in a quick shower. Out of the shower, sandwiches ready to assemble- perfect timing. I sliced up focaccia bread and layered on a little light mayo, tomatoes, mozzarella and the veggie mix.

IMG_0792

This was also supposed to have basil but Zach couldn’t find any at the store so we went without. I know that would have enhanced this delicious sandwich even more though!

IMG_0793

These were tasty but a little too bread forward and once I made a honey-mustard dipping sauce they were perfect. They just needed some type of sauce or more of a spread on to make them a little less dry. Other than that they were great!! Fresh and summery and veggie forward, what more could I want in a sandwich?

IMG_0794

Parks and Rec plus dinner followed by a walk together. We repeatedly said that it felt more like fall than late spring, it was quite chilly out! The temperature kept our walk a little shorter at 21 minutes before bringing us back home. The next hour+ was spent cleaning and organizing. It’s amazing how much we have gotten rid of, moved around and organized in the guest room and office (aka nursery and new guest room) and yet how much there still is to do! We made good progress though and will keep slogging away at it until we’re done!

We drove down to campus because we were going to check out a new frozen yogurt place and then at the last second I decided I wanted a cookie with ice cream from Insomnia Cookie instead. Plus we still have a gift card there. 🙂 While the cookie was as good as always the ice cream was a sad, far cry from what they used to have. They were one of the shops that carried Blue Bell (which recalled all of their ice cream a little bit ago) and had to replace it with something new. Something not as good! Disappointment with the ice cream but happy with my warm cookie and Planet Earth. And my cute husband of course. 🙂

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice (spinach, celery, avocado, peaches, strawberries and ?)
  • Lunch – brown rice w/egg and veggies, apple w/PB
  • Supper – veggie sandwich, 1 cookie w/ 1 scoop ice cream

269.5 miles. 18.5 running miles.

Leave a Reply

