TWO NIGHTS, TWO DINNERS

13 May

Is it tomorrow yet?! I really can’t concentrate or think about anything besides the fact that tomorrow at 9:15 is our level 2 ultrasound. I am beyond nervous and will probably spend the majority of the day (much as I have the past two weeks but even more so!) in prayer for our little baby. I just want to go and get it done and hopefully be told all is well…

Currently life goes on though and I need to blog about the past two days AND the fact that I’ve made dinner the past two nights! Haha shouldn’t sound like such an accomplishment but with the insanity of the last couple of weeks (2 funerals, family visiting, friends visiting and a gender reveal party to name a few things…) my cooking schedule has been erratic. It’s been nice to be back in the kitchen fixing healthy, trustworthy food.

Monday morning after I did my gazelle and had breakfast we settled in for an overcast and stormy day. At least at my house! Apparently just a couple miles away at Mom’s she didn’t get near the downpour we did which is so weird. I had my dad’s leftover mac and cheese from Barn for lunch so at least that was cheerful. 😉 I got some cleaning done for Bible study and fixed brown rice using this foolproof method for the second time. I was pretty tired as the afternoon wore on and a workout was the last thing I felt like doing when I got off but I laced up and headed out for a quick 1 mile run anyway. Rain threatened the whole time but luckily I stayed dry!

When I got home I fixed the rest of dinner because we were actually eating before Bible study for once. The specialty of the night was Cilantro Chicken with Peanuts from Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes. As the name of the cookbook indicates, this was pretty easy! I cooked chicken in some peanut oil and stirred in peanuts and crumbled, dried red chiles.

IMG_0750

When the chicken had cooked I added soy sauce, rice vinegar and sesame oil and cooked just a few minutes more. Once it was removed from the heat cilantro was stirred in and it was served over the brown rice.

IMG_0753

I think the rice was even better than the last time I used that method! It is definitely my go-to now!!

IMG_0755 IMG_0757

The chicken wasn’t quite as saucy as it appeared in the picture so I added a little soy sauce to my rice, much better. I don’t think it was something I’d make again as I wasn’t in love with it but it was still a good dinner overall and I of course ate every bite. 🙂 Bible study was great per usual but unfortunately we didn’t get to sit and relax like usual right after because we had to go knock out our grocery shopping for the week. Finally at almost 9 we got to have a little downtime and I ate 1/2 (actually a little less) of a piece of cheesecake Zach had gotten me. It was good but I just wasn’t that hungry. Bed by 9:30 because that’s life now. 🙂

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – yogurt w/straw.
  • Lunch – mac and cheese
  • Supper – chicken w/brown rice, 1/2 pc. cheesecake

We awoke to the coolest it’s been in awhile on Tuesday morning and all I was focused on was my appointment in the afternoon. Gazelle in the morning and the usual teaching and preschool schedule for the day until finally, mid-naptime, Zach and I got to take off. It felt like a big deal since it was our first appointment since the last ultrasound although really it was just a typical OBGYN check-up. Same as usual- good blood pressure, peed in a cup, heard baby’s heartbeat and talked with our doctor. My weight was actually down a little from my last visit but she seemed unconcerned. I think I was more concerned than she was! She says all that matters is that our baby is growing and that some people just don’t put on that much. She also seemed optimistic that with the normal quad screen we’ll hopefully have good news tomorrow but of course she can’t say for sure.

Back at home I finished up the daycare day and actually got done about 20 minutes early which never happens these days! I set right to work on Spinach Pesto Pasta with Chicken Sausage. It came out of a Food Network magazine and those recipes seem to rarely disappoint! I was doing several things at once- boiling whole grain penne, cooking italian apple chicken sausage (I could only find pre-cooked but it still worked!) with garlic and blending the following in my food processor to make pesto: spinach, pine nuts, lemon zest, lemon juice, red pepper flakes, grated parmesan and salt.

IMG_0758

The last step was to mix everything together and then add more spinach leaves at the very end and eat!

IMG_0759

Good, good pasta.

IMG_0760

I liked the chicken sausage in this even more than I expected to and the homemade pesto was so fresh and vibrant!

IMG_0761

We ate and watched Parks and Rec then turned two tasks into one. Zach needed to print something off at his parents and I wanted to go for a walk so we walked over there, typed up his stuff and walked back home. It was chilly and windy! Felt more like October than May out there. Thankfully it’s already supposed to start warming back up… Now that the living room is finished, the nursery is obviously the next big project! It’s almost two projects in one because to clear out the room to make it a nursery means turning the office into our guest room. So last night we did a LOT of clearing out the office junk and made some good progress. We celebrated with ice cream and Netflix before bed. 🙂

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – nectarine, 1 sl. ww toast w/PB
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – chicken pesto pasta, ice cream

254 miles. 16.5 running miles.

Leave a Reply

