FAMILY COMES IN FOR FUNERALS

9 May

Whoo did I get some sun today!! More on that in a later post though. 😉 This post is about Thursday and Friday! Thursday morning while I was doing my gazelle time Zach announces he is heading out to get pancakes and I say “I have been wanting pancakes for days!”. When he comes back with “pancakes” he has two huge pancakes, 2 sausage patties, 3 eggs and 2 biscuits with gravy. Haha! I opted for half a pancake, one of the eggs and one of the biscuits; let him finish off the rest!! It was an absolutely beautiful day but it was not a day I could enjoy outside with the kids because I was off work at 3. Vicki came to work for me so that Zach and I could go to my great-grandma’s viewing and funeral. The viewing lasted a couple of hours and of course, as with almost anyone who lived to be 96 I’m sure, there were not very many people there! Mostly family and a few friends of family who came by in support.

Zach and I found the room with food and snacked a little in between chatting with family. Greg and Dan showed up safely from Colorado and it was great to see them! (Greg is my mom’s brother and the one with that fabulous cabin in case you remember that trip last year…). The funeral after was brief but nice and Mom gave a lovely eulogy. It was pretty much immediate family though a few other people, like Ron and Vicki, stopped in for it as well. By the time all was said and done and we were back in Muncie it was 8:30 and we were all HUNGRY. After short discussion we chose Italian and went to Johnny Carino’s for dinner. It was Greg and Dan, Mom and Dad, Zach and I and Greg treated us all which was nice. We visited over pasta and were the only ones in the whole restaurant! When I turned in at around 10:15 it was getting past my bed-time for a school night. 🙂

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 egg, 1/2 pancake, 1 biscuit w/gravy, grapes
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – crackers w/dip, salad, lunch-size pasta, 2 cookies

Friday I was a little tired, but nothing terrible, and the day went on like normal with gazelle and breakfast and all that. I was incredibly busy in the morning making Mother’s Day gifts for the parents. I should have taken a picture of one to share! I painted the kid’s feet with black paint and pressed them onto large, white card stock. The older kids wrote their names on their project and under the feet I wrote, “Being a great mom is no small “feat”. You’re the best! Happy Mother’s Day! 2015″. The parents seemed to like them. 🙂

I ate some of Zach’s leftover pasta at lunch and got to get out with the kids for a good while in the afternoon. That’s a nice way to end the week of daycare! Once work was done I laced up and headed out in the neighborhood for a mile run out followed by a mile walk back in (33 minutes in all). I hadn’t ran a mile straight (without breaking it up into half miles) in a good while and it was definitely a little difficult to breathe! I know there are people who can run way more throughout their whole pregnancy but right now I’m just glad to run at all! I quickly changed into normal clothes after and we all met together at Grandma’s house to go somewhere for dinner. Mom wanted to go to Our Daily Bread but when we got there it was closed. It looks as though it shut down for good? Zach and I didn’t mind though because then we got to go to Barn! Fried green tomatoes with chipotle mayo and chef’s fries (duck fat fries, maple syrup, fried egg) for the table to start:

IMG_0714

Messy pictures taken after we started devouring, we were too hungry! 🙂 Fries didn’t get photographed at all. For dinner I got the downtown burger which had bbq, swiss cheese, pickles, red onion, lettuce and other stuff I don’t know on a delicious bun. I got a bowl of beer cheese soup as my side and ate half of both!

IMG_0715

 

Can you see the thing that looks like a beer bottle behind my food? It’s called Hopster and is “hop water”. It’s non-alcoholic and is like sprite meets ginger ale, not sweet at all, and is made with hops so it smells like you are about to drink an ipa. I loved it! Makes me feel included. 🙂 Uncle Greg said, “Take a picture of my food!” and then stuck his face in…

IMG_0716

Silly Greggy. Dinner was the same crew as the night before + Grandma and Larry. After we ate the two of them went home and everyone else came to our house for drinks and Cards Against Humanity.

IMG_0717

 

Greg and Dan had never played and they really loved it! A fantastic time laughing and being outrageous with close family. It was after 11 when we finally went to bed but I wouldn’t have turned in any earlier and missed any of our time together!

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – oatmeal
  • Lunch – salad, pasta
  • Supper – 1/2 fried green tomato, fries, 1/2 soup, 1/2 burger

246 miles. 15.5 running miles.

Leave a Reply

