WHAT A WEEK

1 May

This week has been so busy and so full of emotion that it feels like it has lasted a month. Monday seems ages ago! Yet Monday is where I left off.

I did my 30 minutes on the gazelle in the morning but then it was an unusual morning as I only worked a couple of hours before my sub showed up and I was getting ready for the funeral. We had an hour of public viewing and then the funeral was at 11:30. Zach was reading and re-reading his speech the whole time. He’d written down what he wanted to say but was nervous and afraid that he wouldn’t be able to get through it. After a beautiful and well-put together video of Evelyn’s life it was time for the speakers and even though he wasn’t listed first, Zach was the only one willing to go first. I prayed for him the whole time and he did amazing! His speech was touching and heartfelt with just the right touch of lightheartedness. Full of memories and lessons learned, it was beautiful and I was so proud of him for getting up there and doing such a great job. It was a wonderful memorial to his grandma. The rest of the services included other speakers from the family, a few people from the audience, a message from the pastor and a couple of songs. One of the most beautiful parts was when we all went outside afterwards and set free pink and yellow balloons with tags tied to them that had special messages to Evelyn.

Once all of the parts of the service had concluded, family and friends went to the fellowship area for some lunch. There were several desserts that I had small portions of so I could try multiple things. 🙂 We sat around and visited and took some family photos as well until immediate family were the last ones left. We headed out with a huge box of cupcakes since there had been lots left over. I determined to feed them mostly to the children so I didn’t end up eating them all!

I wish I had pictures from the day to share with you but I don’t have any copies from the photographer yet. With my afternoon off Zach and I wandered around hardware stores picking out final things for our living room and amusing ourselves looking at magazines and cards in the aisles at Marsh before we ended up at Mom’s. We got coerced into watching “baby Jordy” videos that Zach seemed more entertained with than me and then he ended up inviting himself for dinner. Mom loved that idea of course but I was not hungry in the least bit. So we played Clue (Mom won) and Yahtzee (I won) before I watched Mom, Dad and Zach eat, haha. We went for a drive and picked up some supplies and finally around 8:30 I decided I had to eat something and we stopped by McAllister’s Deli. It’s a newer restaurant in Muncie that we hadn’t been to and I got half a cup of soup and half a sandwich to take home. It was pretty good! Comparable to a Panera but we’d go there again. We ended the night with Planet Earth which I am thrilled that it’s on Netflix!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – yogurt w/ strawberries
  • Lunch – salad, ziti, 1/2 cupcake, 1/4 doughnut + bites of pie
  • Supper – 1/2 soup, 1/2 chx. sandwich, cupcake

I don’t think I have like any photos for this post because it’s been a weird week of eating, so to break up the monotony of typing I’ll post some living room remodel updates for you! I have no clue what the last pictures I even posted were so bear with me if you’ve seen some before…

IMG_9852 IMG_0333 IMG_0334

Disclaimer: The mantel did not stay teal. Once we painted the fireplace it didn’t look right at all! Stay tuned to see the final shots of the room soon as it’s <this close> to being done!!

I didn’t sleep great on Monday night because I was anxious for Tuesday’s doctor appointment. I did my gazelle in the morning and then waited all day until Kathy (my other sub besides Vicki) came to work for me again. We went off to our visit and it didn’t go quite as expected. For all the details on the ultrasound, refer to my previous post. It’s also on the updated Baby Bean page. It was tough and we ended up being at the doctor far longer than expected, poor Kathy!, and I got back only for the very end of daycare. I wasn’t hungry but knew I needed food and Zach got us a veggie sub from Subway.

After work he and I went for a half hour walk (1.5 miles) in our neighborhood and talked out all our feelings from the day and the news we’d received. We got together for dinner over at Zach’s parents with Trent and Mary and the kids to eat some of the food that had been brought to Vicki and look at the beautiful pictures from Evelyn’s internment. (That’s when they put the casket at the final resting place in case you weren’t aware.) We also shared our news with them and then my parents. At least we had sweet ultrasound pictures to soften the blow. Home was a short amount of Planet Earth before hitting the bed hard, I really needed a good night’s sleep.

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – pear, 1 slice toast w/PB
  • Lunch – 6 in. veggie sub, 1/2 cupcake
  • Supper – salad, 1 pc. garlic bread, 1 pc. lasagna

Thankfully I got the good night’s sleep I wanted Tuesday but still woke up feeling a bit run over with the news we’d received the day before. As the day went on through more google searching and hearing other people’s stories I finally began to breathe a little easier when I found how common this is and how rarely it ends up being bad. Although I won’t truly breathe easy until after our level II ultrasound. Gazelle like normal, the first full day of work that week and then to Mom’s for a girls only night. Dad was working late and Zach was bottling with Steven. I rode the bike for 25 minutes and then we called in for Chinese. I stopped by our house to show Mom all the things we’d accomplished (a lot more than in the pics above, I just don’t have pictures yet!) and then we picked up our dinner. We ate while watching Dancing with the Stars and I got home later than usual though still beat Zach back! By the time he got home we barely had a few minutes to spend together before it was bedtime once again. What an exhausting week up til then…

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – plum, 1 slice toast w/PB
  • Lunch – salad, cheese and crackers
  • Supper – egg roll, lo mein, kung pao chicken with rice

221.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

