TWO COOKS IN THE KITCHEN

8 Apr

Both Zach and I have been busy in the kitchen this week! It’s generating a lot of leftovers, which I love, but which also means I think what I planned on making Thursday needs to be postponed in light of this fridge we are going to need to eat up.

Monday morning John and Heather and Matilda were only around briefly to pack up and then they headed home knowing they would probably be making the journey back sooner rather than later. As for me it was back to the workweek like usual, gazelle time included. I was pretty worn out, as I usually seem to be on Mondays, and was thankful Bible study was scheduled for Tuesday so I didn’t have to be a cleaning machine. I also didn’t have to worry about being a cooking machine because Zach had that covered! I was going to go for a short walk outside after work if the rain hadn’t started yet but alas, it had. I couldn’t psych myself up to go to the gym so instead I had quality couch-time reading until dinner was ready. 🙂 I don’t have an official name or a link for Zach’s recipe but they were something like Venison Rolls with Cheese Grits. Here are a few pictures he took himself during the prep and cooking…

IMG_0200 IMG_0203 IMG_0205

 

While I don’t know much about this dinner, I know he rolled venison up around an assortment of vegetables (green pepper, shredded carrots, zucchini, and maybe more?) and it had a fantastic seasoning on it.

IMG_0210

There was also an incredibly good sauce that I liked over the rolls and the grits which were made with poblano and gruyere and topped with sriracha!

IMG_0207

We both agreed that this was an excellent venison meal. Zach was really pleased with it which makes me happy when he takes pride in something he created for us. 🙂

IMG_0208

We finished Into the Woods, took a short drive to return it to Redbox and watched Parks and Rec before it was bed-time for me and NCAA championship game-watching time for Zach.

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 slice cinnamon raisin bread, plum
  • Lunch – 1 deviled egg and really small portions of: ham, green bean casserole, cheesy potatoes
  • Supper – 2 venison rolls, grits

Tuesday- gazelle, workday with some overly loud children (thunderstorms keeping us inside lately), cleaning for Bible study and prepping for dinner. Last weekend during menu planning I told Zach that once a week I was going to resurrect a dish from the past that we really enjoyed. This week that dish was Roasted Cauliflower Risotto from a Food Network magazine that I last made several years ago. At nap-time I cut up a whole head of cauliflower- florets were cut into smaller pieces and went into one container, stems were chopped small and went into another. That, plus chopping an onion + garlic and shredding some fontina cheese were the only things I could do ahead of time. This was a pretty hands-on meal for a bit though so I got started right after work and was cooking pretty much right up until Bible study started. The florets were tossed with olive oil and seasoned with sea salt and pepper before roasting in the oven at 475 for just a few minutes.

IMG_0211

 

While that went on I sautĂ©ed the onion and cauliflower stems in some oil on the stovetop in a dutch oven. After a few minutes add arborio rice and garlic and cook a little longer. Then some cooking wine (which smelled like riesling and made me crave the first glass of wine I’ve missed in the past 98 days) which I stirred in until evaporated. Now chicken broth and water plus some salt were added and the whole thing was brought to a boil. I removed all the food from heat and left it for the next bit while our study started and we dove into Isaiah! I’d suggested Isaiah for our next book but didn’t know that it would get picked as it’s quite a long book with some heavy prophecy and usually Bible studies stick to shorter books. My leader said I’d “challenged him” though and that’s our new book. I was really excited because I love Isaiah and think the prophecy in it is so important! Prophecy is one of the things that makes the Bible so reliable- being able to see what was prophesied come to fruition in the New Testament and beyond into our world right now is incredible and if you ever do any research on the biblical prophecies being fulfilled you’d be amazed.

With 15 minutes left to go (my Bible study is used to me popping up and putting things in the oven) I added slivered almonds to my cauliflower and stuck it back on the top shelf and my dutch oven full of liquid went on the bottom. When everyone had left and my food came out of the oven, it had turned to risotto! Risotto can be tricky and this is a pretty fool-proof way to make it. I stirred in fontina cheese and butter until melted and then added parsley as the finishing touch.

IMG_0213

Zach and I both said we’d be eager each week to see if we liked a dish as much as we apparently did the time before…

IMG_0218

Well this one proved itself worthy! You top the risotto with the roasted cauliflower and almonds and this is an incredibly creamy, delicious vegetarian dish.

IMG_0215

I have a food log in my laptop that I’ve been keeping far longer than my blog where I document every meal I make, where it came from, how we liked it/if I’d make it again and any tips on improving it the next time. After this success I’m looking forward to the next “repeat offender”. 🙂

IMG_0216

Our new IMDB top 250 film is Cinema Paradiso and we watched half of it last night. It’s in Italian and we really like this one so far, definitely holding our interest! I was wiped out (big surprise) by 9 last night so while Zach read in bed, I fell asleep for a night of fitful coughing and trying to breathe even though I’m pretty congested. Not sick, just pregnant and having allergies. 16 weeks today!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – strawberries, 1/2 pickled egg w/beet, tiny bit of cheesy pot. (the last few bites!)
  • Lunch – 2 pcs. pizza, apple
  • Supper – cauliflower risotto

165.5 miles.

Leave a Reply

