SALMON SO GOOD

27 Mar

Today’s the day! Two more hours until I’m off work and driving south as Kori heads north. Probably because I’m getting old and probably because I am pregnant, but I am ridiculously excited about tonight’s agenda of cuddling up in sweats watching movies, stuffing our faces with our soul foods and just being together! Although we do have something of a more exciting adventure planned for tomorrow…

Yesterday morning I gazelled and then you won’t believe what I had for breakfast…a juice! Second day of the second trimester and it suddenly sounded appealing again. Thank goodness for some healthier cravings for once. I really would like to work these back in as they are suuuuch a great source of getting my servings of fruits and veggies in. Then at lunch I was lucky enough to get a small bit of Zach’s Thai Smile leftovers. 🙂

Another really small class = another pretty easy workday. I wanted to go workout after I got off but I just didn’t have a second to spare with all I had to do before the trip this weekend! Instead I started dinner before jumping in the shower. I sliced up new potatoes, threw them in a pot to parboil for a few minutes, then tossed them with olive oil + sea salt + pepper + dried parsley and let them bake in the oven for half an hour.

*Insert super fast shower/drying hair*

Got done with a couple minutes to spare before potatoes were done and I got started on my Pastrami Salmon. (Thanks Self magazine.) I cooked salmon on both sides in a little oil in a skillet for just a couple of minutes. I had Zach use his muscles to crush up whole coriander and whole peppercorns on a paper towel-lined cutting board while I made a glaze from molasses, sea salt, paprika and cayenne pepper. Brushed the glaze on both sides of the salmon and topped with the crushed spice crust. This only needed a quick couple of minutes in the oven before it was done and ready to be eaten with the potatoes.

IMG_9845

The potatoes were excellent and I ended up putting a little ketchup on mine just because I love ketchup on potatoes.

IMG_9848

The salmon, let me just say, exceeded my expectations! The glaze was incredibly flavorful and the spice crust added the perfect amount of heat without being overpowering.

IMG_9847

WORTH MAKING AGAIN, especially considering how much Zach loved it too! Oh yeah, that, and the fact that the whole meal was 340 calories potatoes included.

IMG_9846

Hmm…don’t know if I that was quite enough calories for the day…good thing Zach and I shared a piece of cheesecake after while watching Dexter. 😉 Then we watched UNC come so close to upsetting Wisconsin in the tournament. They didn’t pull it off but it was a good game to watch!

*By the time I finished this post it’s now time for me to head out! Hooray!*

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – small amount of rice w/pad thai
  • Supper – salmon, potatoes, 1/2 pc. cheesecake

142.5/1,200 miles

Leave a Reply

