THE DIFFERENCE THE RIGHT FLOUR MAKES

20 Mar

I could tell that Wednesday would be my last day for glasses, finally! I really didn’t want to wear them but figured I should give my eyes one more day. Unfortunately right as pinkeye was on it’s way out, it’s like I regressed 3 weeks into the first trimester and started dealing with a lot of fatigue and nausea again. I had spaghetti squash for lunch which I usually love and I had a HARD time getting it down. I did the gazelle in the morning but only got 20 minutes on the bike at Mom’s after work. I was just so. exhausted. At like 6pm! Haha and I’d gone to bed at 8:30 the night before…sigh. I was worried I was going to have a tough time with dinner but I did all right. Namely because Mom made me stouffer’s macaroni. 🙂 The chicken was also good although I wasn’t as crazy about the mushrooms as I would usually be. The broccoli though was rough. I ate some to get some veggies down but ended up giving my last bit to Zach since I just couldn’t stomach it. I could stomach the cupcake that I ate later for a snack though while we watched Dexter…good grief. I need my healthy appetite to return and stay! I went to bed early yet again.

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – coffee cake, grapes
  • Lunch – spaghetti squash 
  • Supper – broccoli, chicken, mac and cheese, cupcake

Putting my new contacts in on Thursday morning was amazing, such a great feeling. I generally always feel good in the morning and I’m productive on my gazelle and around the house and I’m hungry for breakfast. Then my energy starts to flag by nap time (if I’m having a rough day). Thursday was one of those days. I also had planned all day that I was going to have a salad for lunch, I even prepped the ingredients and by the time lunch came vegetables sounded like the worst thing in the entire world. In fact everything sounded pretty awful. Finally around 1:30 (an hour after I usually ate), I made myself eat a little bit of tricolor pasta with sauce, the only thing I could bear the idea of. Last week of first trimester…lets hope the symptoms are saying their goodbyes.

No workout after work on this night, much like Tuesday I flopped onto the couch with a book as it was about all I could manage. Thankfully I had put dinner in the crockpot in the morning (back when I was productive) so I could get a good, home-cooked meal without doing anything much. I was making Savory Cheese Soup from Best of Country: Slow-Cooker Recipes. For 8 hours I cooked the following on low- chicken broth, onion, celery, carrots, red pepper, butter, salt and pepper.

IMG_9808

 

IMG_9810

When I knew we wanted dinner in half an hour I stirred flour and water together and put it into the crockpot to thicken the soup. At the very end when it was time to add the cheese I ended up fishing out a couple huge globs of flour…apparently I needed to use ap, not whole wheat. So the thickening part kind of went down the drain. Stirred in cheddar cheese and cream cheese to melt before serving up the soup.

IMG_9813

Apparently I also needed soften the cream cheese even more than I did since it stayed in tiny little pieces.

IMG_9811

 

I suppose this soup was a bit off from how it was supposed to be but we did still enjoy it. I think it would have been even better thicker though!

IMG_9812

We ate bowls of soup (and a couple pickles for me!) before heading to the grocery. I needed to pick up some ingredients for a dessert I have to make today. We also got kids size ice creams and watched Dexter. We’ve really been binging lately because we are so close to being done!!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – coffee cake, strawberries
  • Lunch – pasta
  • Supper – soup, kids ice cream

126.5/1,200 miles.

 

Leave a Reply

