DO YOU KNOW WHAT RAITA IS?

12 Mar

12 weeks and 1 day today! Bean is now the size of an apricot and over 2 inches long. 🙂

Tuesday was gloomy and dreary but at least in a “spring-like” way as opposed to winter. I did the gazelle and had a full but simple workday. In the afternoon I made a cucumber raita (a raita is a yogurt-based sauce) for my Beef with Cucumber Raita I was making for dinner. I shredded cucumber, chopped red onion and snipped mint.

IMG_9771

These things were mixed in a bowl with a little sugar, salt and pepper and greek yogurt. It was simple and it sat in the fridge for the rest of the day. After work I trimmed the fat from some boneless beef top sirloin and seasoned it with lemon pepper seasoning. It was supposed to cook under the broiler on a broiler pan but I don’t have a broiler pan. No worries, just make a makeshift one!

IMG_9772

I put a metal cooling rack over a baking pan and voila! Instant broiler pan. I put this under the broiler, told Zach to flip them after 10 minutes then cook for 10 more and jumped in the shower. When I got out the meat had 3 minutes left but I took it out to check and…it was somewhat overcooked. This was really disappointing because I never buy steak and was hoping to cook this just right but it was either thinner than the recipe wanted or too close to the broiler. I sliced it up and served it over mint leaves with the raita.

IMG_9773

The meat was a little too dry and chewy (bummer!!) but the cucumber sauce was actually even better than I expected! We both used more of it than we started with to help hydrate the meat and I think this would have been a great dish if it were cooked just right.

IMG_9774

The recipe came out of Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes so perhaps I will attempt it again and keep a closer eye on my meat!

IMG_9775

We watched more of Taxi Driver and then we took a drive ourselves. It was CRAZY foggy out and it was fun driving out in the country, it felt like we were in a horror movie! I know that isn’t everybody’s idea of fun but we liked the added element to our drive. 🙂 Even coming down the main busy road through our town was surreal since we couldn’t see more than a block out a time so all other cars + street lights were not visible. Dinner had been really small since I didn’t make any sides (we usually don’t need one) so we grabbed chips and queso from Puerto and went home to share those and watch Dexter and that was Tuesday!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – doughnut
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – chips w/queso, beef w/raita

Wednesday even more of the snow melted thanks to weather that got over 50 degrees and now we have just the very last small piles of holdouts in our yard which will hopefully be gone by tomorrow! I gazelled and made a yummy bowl of oatmeal which I haven’t done for awhile. It was killing me not to be able to get the kids outside in the afternoon, every time a parent came through the door to pick one up we could feel the warmer air and smell the springtime. Hopefully the yard will dry up soon and we can get out there!! Mid-afternoon my left eye was itchy and clouding over and when I looked in a mirror I knew immediately- pink eye. Some of my kids have already had this in the last couple of weeks and I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that now I have it too. This baby is making my immune system like that of the first year I taught daycare when I caught everything!! The past 6 years I’ve been blessed with really excellent health even while the kids get illness after illness but this year I am right there with them. I went to Mom’s after work to get some of my prescription drops so hopefully that clears up soon.

I rode the bike for 30 minutes and watched the Bachelor finale. No spoilers here but I will say the girl I wanted to was picked. 😉 For dinner Mom made salads, some type of crockpot dish with potato/carrots/red peppers/cheese/hamburger that was really good and my favorite noodles of all – noodles romanoff. I ate waaay too much of that! Haha I initially had the intention of having a bowl of ice cream later but I think the extra noodles became dessert instead. 🙂

We went to bed shortly after getting home but not before reading my favorite Dr. Seuss book, One Fish, Two Fish to Bean!

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – oatmeal w/blueberries
  • Lunch – polenta pizza
  • Supper – salad, veggie hamburger crockpot meal, noodles romanoff

108.5/1,200 miles.

Leave a Reply

