NOT QUITE 50 SHADES OF GRAY

9 Mar

I don’t think I jinxed myself…I’ve felt pretty good this weekend! Friday I did my gazelle and while I felt well enough to go to the gym, I didn’t have the time! Right after work I headed over to one of my daycare mom’s houses for a girl’s night. Apparently Wine and Canvas (where I just took Hillary for her birthday back in January) will come to a house and do a private party if you have enough people. Well Cassie had lots of my daycare moms plus several other of her friends so we had plenty! I didn’t eat before I went over knowing that she was making some food and she had a really good italian spread set out. I had one small dessert plate-size and then a little more later on. A lot of the women brought wine, I saw several bottles from Tonne…it will be awhile before we reunite! Cassie was sweet though and had an italian cream soda bar set up for those of us who weren’t drinking. 🙂 The picture was called Evening in Paris or something and it was a scene looking through a window and out at buildings. I’ve done Wine and Canvas twice before and this was the most difficult painting I’ve done! In fact, the artist even told us at the end that it was one of the toughest paintings they had in general. I didn’t love my finished product as well as the Boardwalk at Sunset that I did last time, but I still thought it was decent.

IMG_9760

The artist also complimented me and said she could tell I’d done this before. 🙂 It was fun to be able to sit and chat with all the moms, especially since I’m now “joining the club” myself! When I got home Zach had a few of our friends over and I sat and visited with them. He’s trying to get rid of some of his craft beer to make room in the office for stuff so we can turn the guest room into a nursery so he is having a weekly beer and movie night thing. It was fun to see people who I haven’t in awhile but by the time I went to bed at 11 I was COMPLETELY wiped!

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – coffee cake, grapes
  • Lunch – mac and cheese
  • Supper – veggies + pita and hummus, 4 meatballs, 1 pc. manicotti, cream soda

I looooove Saturday mornings with no alarm. Such a wonderful thing. Got up when I felt like it, ate breakfast in my pajamas while watching Netflix…I know these are the thing I take for granted that I will miss in 6 1/2 months! After a shower Zach started painting the wall that we’d peeled the paper off of and I went to prenatal yoga.

IMG_9747

I was the only one there so good thing I showed up! The instructor and I are friends though and it was fun to have a one-on-one class plus since I don’t have a belly or anything yet we did some more challenging stuff which was good. Zach was busy doing stuff at the house so I went to Mom’s after yoga to hang out for awhile. I ate what I could find in her fridge for lunch and we looked at my baby book and some old baby clothes. 🙂 When I got home Zach asked what I thought about the wall and…it was too purpley. The shade of gray we’d chosen had looked good, even in the small area of the wall we painted, but covering the whole thing it practically looked lavender. Luckily he agreed with me and wasn’t upset that we had to go get all new paint haha. We picked up two new paint samples and painted all three on a space of the wall. Unfortunately my picture with the bright flash in daytime doesn’t quite get the colors right. For instance the whole painted wall doesn’t look nearly as purple as it did in person and in the below picture, the very top gray looks best I think but in real life the middle gray actually looks the best!

IMG_9756

 

We were wanting a gray with bluish undertones that was a light color to keep the room bright so that’s the one we are going with. Right now the wall is just coated in primer but hopefully it will be our new gray here in the next few days!

It was time for a break by the time early evening rolled around so we took advantage of the somewhat nicer weather by going for a 20 minute walk around Ball State’s campus. The college kids are all gone on spring break so it was nice to have the sidewalks mostly to ourselves. Dinner out afterwards and Barn was calling my name. I’d been wanting to go there ever since Zach got to have that awesome meal there last week. 🙂 We got a side order of the “chef’s fries” to share which are some incredible fries in slightly sweet and tangy sauce that have an egg on them and are absolutely divine. I only ate about 1/4 of them though because I got so full off of my own meal!

IMG_9757

 

I got a burger that had a horseradish pate, pickled onions, fried egg and several other delicious things I don’t remember with a side of mac and cheese. I ate half of each and boxed up the rest because I was completely stuffed! The bites of Zach’s blackened pork chop with tomato jam and cheese grits were also really excellent. A great dinner!

We rounded off our night by coming home and watching Dexter before Zach went to go watch the UNC basketball game and I passed out at 9pm on a Saturday night!! I was totally exhausted. Thank goodness for early bedtimes. 🙂

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 slice cinnamon raisin toast, banana
  • Lunch – cheesy potatoes, V8, pickles
  • Supper – 1/4 side of fries, 1/2 burger, 1/2 mac and cheese

98.5/1,200 miles.

Leave a Reply

