SCARY TERRITORY

28 Jan

I reached new territory with my recipe last night. Scary territory for me but all was well! After a workday complete with gazelle I went to the gym and finally got some running done. Not much but better than nothing! I ran a mile, albeit a slow one, and then walked for a total of 30 minutes, 2.3 miles and 181 calories burned. This is the first mile run of 2015…took me long enough! 🙂

When I got home I pulled out Way to Cook Vegetarian and turned to the recipe for Pinto Bean Nachos. Now I have come a loooong way with a former hatred of beans over the years to the point where I will eat whole beans in things and enjoy them. Beans that are smashed up though, basically the texture of refried beans, is where I draw the line. This recipe had beans and these beans were to be smashed and I picked it anyway. Overall it just looked good anyway and I decided to be brave.

First off I took corn tortillas and quartered them.

IMG_9071

These look big in the picture but they actually weren’t. They come from 6-inch corn tortillas and are about the size of large chips. I spread them out in a single layer on baking sheets, lightly sprayed them with cooking spray and then let them cook at 425 degrees for about 8 minutes. Meanwhile I cooked garlic, cumin and chili powder in some oil for a quick minute. I added in a huge can of pinto beans, undrained, brought it to a boil then let it simmer 10 minutes so the beans could soak up the flavor and soften. On the side I prepped avocado and cilantro.

IMG_9072

Using my avocado masher I mashed about half the mixture of beans and spooned them over the chips. Topped with salsa, avocado, cilantro and parmigiano reggiano cheese.

IMG_9073

I sat down, it smelled delicious, and I tentatively tried a bite.

IMG_9075

Home run!!! I was honestly surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did. Zach says it’s because these actually have good flavor and usually refried beans are bland mush. I agree with that statement. 🙂

IMG_9076

Seriously though, this was great!! I loved the fresh cilantro and avocado, the beans really were flavorful and not at all gross and the chips made that way in the oven were awesome. I am already planning on making more that way sometime. Love when a recipe surprises me!!

37.5/1,400 miles. 1/200 running miles.

Leave a Reply

