THAI FOOD AT HOME

27 Jan

Sunday afternoon after a good morning of church and leftovers I laid down for a nap. When I got up an hour and a half later, the world outside had changed to white! More snow. I can’t complain about the 3 or so inches we got though because the east coast is getting hit HARD right now. Zach and I did our grocery shopping and then had our Sunday night Surrender class. It was only supposed to be a two week thing but we all are enjoying it so much and are covering so much material that we decided to extend it to three!

Once we were home and settled in warm and cozy for the night we started on dinner- Sweet and Spicy Peanut Noodles. I had torn this recipe out of Self magazine awhile back and I’m so glad we made it. Here’s the lineup of asian-inspired flavors it involved:

IMG_9064

 

As well as a few other things. Whole wheat linguine cooked in one pan and garlic + ginger sautéed in another. After just a minute of that, water, peanut butter, soy sauce (buy the one with the least sodium!!), hoisin, brown sugar, rice vinegar and chile paste all went in with the garlic and ginger. The recipe called for chunky PB but since I didn’t have any of that or want to buy a jar of chunky just for a recipe we just chopped up some unsalted peanuts and added them in! Once the sauce was thick we tossed it with the noodles and chopped scallions for a completed dish.

IMG_9065

 

IMG_9069

This was SO excellent. Tasted like some of the best Thai food we’ve ever had! My goodness Zach couldn’t stop raving about it haha. He loves Thai and peanuts and pretty much every flavor that went into this dish.

IMG_9067

I only have two “critiques” and I wouldn’t even call them that- add green peppers next time slightly cooked but still crunchy and make double the recipe. It needed a vegetable and different texture to take it to the next level and this recipe we realized was supposed to be divided into appetizer portions, not dinner portions so between the two of us we ate the whole thing and sadly had no leftovers!

IMG_9070

So great though and a definite one to make again!! Netflix and s’mores cookies rounded out the weekend. 🙂

Sunday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – fruit
  • Lunch – 1/2 salad, a few pretzels
  • Supper – noodles, 2 cookies

Monday morning I was really beat for some reason. I’d been in bed for plenty of time the night before but it was just a really restless, off night which made for a tired Monday. I did get my gazelle time in but no gym unfortunately. Instead I cleaned for Bible study after work and then we had some really great discussions discussing mercy and judgement while finishing James 1 and some of James 2. I initially had a dinner I was making after Bible study but I was so pooped that I postponed it for tonight and just fixed some of what I had laying around while we vegged out to Dexter.

Luckily I got a good lot of sleep last night and today seems to be going much better!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – banana w/PB
  • Lunch – chili, 1/2 apple w/PB (eaten late afternoon)
  • Supper – grilled cheese, grapes

34/1,200 miles.

Leave a Reply

