THE KIDS WHO DIDN’T LEAVE

21 Jan

Yesterday was a loooong day. It started off the same as usual, gazelle, work, meal-prep and the like but after I got off work I wasn’t kid free! No gym or going anywhere for the evening because Zach and I were babysitting Noah and Natalee. For Christmas we gave Trent and Mary a date night to watch the kids for free so they could go out and since they won some tickets to a magic show in Indy, Tuesday was the night. I had the kids from 9 in the morning when they got dropped off for school until after 11pm! Once all the other kids had left we went into the house and they played on their tablets while I finished getting Zach and I’s dinner ready (Mary had brought over other food to fix the kids). We played with legos and some games until Zach got home and then he happily played on the floor with them while I got a brief reading break. 🙂 I can already tell when we have kids how GLAD I will be for him to get home after the workday to play!!

I prepared the kids dinner too and we all sat down to eat. Bayou Shrimp Soup from Quick Soups, Simple Salads was what I made for Zach and I except I changed up the recipe slightly. It called for andouille sausage and shrimp but in the interest of saving money and using what I had on hand I made it with summer sausage and chicken – worked out great!!

Back at nap-time I chopped up green peppers, onions and tomatoes and sliced up summer sausage.

IMG_9011

IMG_9016

After work I cooked and shredded the chicken and made brown rice on the stove. I cooked the sausage, peppers and onions for about 7 minutes until the veggies were tender.

IMG_9017

In went chicken broth, steak sauce (interesting ingredient), thyme and red pepper flakes. I brought this to a boil then let it simmer for 10 minutes. Added chicken, tomatoes and rice at the end and cooked until heated through. This made a killer soup! Zach and I both loved it. It was hearty and flavorful and healthy and what more could you ask for?!

IMG_9018

Definitely one to keep in the roster.

IMG_9019 IMG_9022

Once we’d all eaten we played with the kids for awhile before it was time for our “jammie party”. We put their pjs on (and ours too), got out their sleeping bags in the living room, put on a movie and had cookies for a snack. They watched a little over half of Chicken Run before they started dozing off so Zach and I switched it to Gilmore Girls and they were out before too long. I knew Trent and Mary were scheduled to get back a little late so before too long the lights were off, the fan was on and I was sleeping on the couch while they slept on the floor and Zach was the last man standing entertaining himself with his tablet. 🙂 It was fun but a tiring evening!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – brussels sprouts, 1/2 small leftover ravioli
  • Supper – 1 bowl soup, 1 cookie

22/1,200 miles.

Leave a Reply

