MY INNER ARTIST

19 Jan

Friday morning I did my gazelle and had a normal day of work. Boring huh? I like boring. 🙂 After work I changed quickly and then Zach and I took off for Indy with our friends Kevin and Ali. We’ve known them for quite some time but this was to be our first double date and Zach and I decided to introduce them to the Local. That was a great choice! Guess who did NOT get a drink? This girl!! I am seriously holding strong on my no more until Chicago after I got last Saturday out of my system…haha. To start my dinner I ordered a salad. I used to never do this but now I think it’s a great tactic to a) get some more veggies in and b) not be so hungry when my meal comes that I wolf it all down and eat way too much. This salad had pickled onions and tomatoes and cheese and it was good. I let Zach eat some too.

IMG_8994

For dinner my choice was difficult because SO many things looked good. I finally landed on the Dan Dan Noodles with duck and I’m so glad I did.

IMG_8995

 

Zach’s risotto was great but I thought my dish topped them all. It had just the right amount of spice, the crust on the duck was awesome and it was an all-around delicious dinner. We had tons of fun with Kevin and Ali too! We all chatted about anything and everything with lots of laughs and there was never a dull moment. When we got back to Muncie we showed Ali our house, chatted just briefly more and then smiled over the fact that we were all old people who wanted to go to bed and so they left and that’s just what we did!

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – leftover potatoes alfredo, hard-boiled egg
  • Supper – salad, 1/2 small noodles w/duck

The next morning I got to sleep in with no alarm but still found myself up and refreshed at 8:45 in the morning! Zach and I had a slow start around the house and I got the menu planned for the week. It was a nice day, over 40 degrees!, so Zach and I went for a walk in the neighborhood. Let me say, it was sooo great to be able to be outside walking around. Can’t wait for spring already!! I also finally recorded activity on my Fitbit properly so I can tell you that in 25 minutes we walked 1.33 miles for 118 calories burned. We ran a few errands then Zach was busy for the day so I picked myself up a half salad from Concannon’s (gave the cookie that came with it to Zach) and went to Mom’s for the afternoon. The half salads from there are ENORMOUS. My goodness it was a monster. I only ate about half of it and saved the rest for later! I visited with Mom and caught up a little more on the Bachelor. I had to leave by 4 though because I had some big plans with Hillary!

Her birthday is in a few days and I had already known for months what I wanted to do for it. Back around my birthday she had mentioned that she realllly wanted to go to Wine and Canvas sometime (I took Mom there for her birthday last year) so I secretly made plans. I took her to dinner at Olive Garden in Muncie where I got very full quickly after a bowl of soup and a few bites of my lunch portion ravioli for some reason. Then we were off to Indy and some blank canvases!

IMG_8998 IMG_8999

The painting of the night was called “Boardwalk at Sunset” (though I think it should have been renamed Pier at Sunset) and was a LOT of fun to paint! Hillary had some wine and I…had a bottle of water. 🙂 Here’s my painting about halfway through when we stopped for a break:

IMG_9006

 

IMG_9008

As we continued I was feeling really good about my painting, like I was doing a much better job than the last time. I think my finished product agrees!!

IMG_9010

I love it!! Can’t wait to hang it in my living room. 🙂 Best of all Hillary had a great time for her birthday!

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1/2 apple, 1 pc. hash brown casserole
  • Lunch – half of a large salad
  • Supper – soup, 1/2 small ravioli

 

Leave a Reply

