CHICKEN CANNELLONI

18 Jan

***DISCLAIMER- Ohhhhh my goodness guys!! I wrote this post on Friday morning and thought I had posted it!!!! Super sorry. Can’t believe I haven’t gotten a post up since Wednesday. Oops!!!***

Wednesday – gazelle, work, made a Hashbrown Pancetta Casserole at nap time, dinner at Mom and Dad’s with Zach (no soccer for him this week!), ate cinnamon rolls and pot roast with potatoes and carrots, watched some of my shows at their house, made a Cinnamon Roll Coffee Cake when I got home and went to bed! Why the brunchy type dishes? Well Zach goes to a men’s Bible study at 6:30 on Thursday mornings and it was his turn to take breakfast and I wanted to make some awesome things for the guy! I made both things ahead of time and Zach would only need to put them in the oven in the morning to bake before he went.

Wednesday’s Food Journal (finally):

  • Breakfast – cinnamon roll
  • Lunch – biscuits and gravy
  • Supper – cinnamon roll, pot roast w/veggies

Unfortunately I am so type-A that this didn’t work out so well… He was up at 5:30am and I’d left a list of detailed instructions for him but after 15 minutes of me tossing and turning and thinking about the food I ended up dragging myself out of bed to “oversee”. It’s a good thing I did because they weren’t cooking at the rate expected! He ran out of the house with them at the last minute but they seemed to be a big hit because he came home with almost nothing and said everyone had raved about them and eaten seconds. 🙂 Someone told him his wife needed to make the breakfast every week!

I had a good workday and made Chicken Cannelloni at nap-time. This recipe came out of a cookbook Mom got me for Christmas, Double Delicious. This is a triple threat of a cookbook because 1) It has pictures, 2) It has the nutritional info listed and 3) The recipes look healthy and delicious! Here’s how the cannelloni making went down- boiled some whole wheat lasagna and then put the strips in a bowl of cool water. Steamed cauliflower and then pureed it in the blender. In a bowl mixed the cauliflower puree, ricotta, parmesan, garlic powder, salt and shredded chicken together.

IMG_8989

I had Zach pick up a roaster chicken from the store; you know, one of those that are already cooked and ready? I tore the skin off and shredded the chicken to use for the recipe. It was so easy that way! I stretched out a lasagna noodle, put 1/4 cup of the chicken mix at the bottom and rolled it up.

IMG_8990

Repeat until 8 cannelloni’s were done! Then they went into a baking dish where I poured tomato sauce around them, not on top. Finished off with mozzarella cheese. This baked while I was at the gym and was ready right when I got home! Love when I can do that with a meal. At the gym I walked on the treadmill for 2 miles in 30 minutes. You’re going to be seeing a loooot of walking and maybe some jogging for a bit I am afraid…ever since TRX on Monday something is up with my leg but it doesn’t bother me to do those things so I suppose that is where I am right now. :/ Better than nothing though so I will keep it up!

The cannelloni were very, very good! I served myself one but ended up having two. 🙂

IMG_8991

 

IMG_8993

The cauliflower puree is undetectable, just seems like a lot of ricotta filling! What a sneaky, delicious way to get more veggies in. It was only 510 calories for two of those things which is pretty fantastic for a cheesy pasta dish. Definitely worth repeating!

IMG_8992

We’re almost finished with Sunset Blvd. now but around 8:30 I was suddenly so exhausted I couldn’t keep my eyes open. I went to bed and slept the whoooole night. It was fantastic. 🙂 Double date for Zach and I tonight, yay!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – hash brown casserole, coffee cake (small pieces of both from leftovers)
  • Lunch – broccoli w/cheese, tiny amount of the last of last week’s “Potato” and Cheddar soup
  • Supper – 2 chicken cannellonis

15.5/1,200 miles.

Leave a Reply

