KITCHEN REMODEL CONTINUES

14 Jan

Monday night’s dinner was DEFINITELY one for the books!! Best recipe I’ve made in awhile I think and so good I had 2 1/2 servings!! What was this delicious creation? Hearty Alfredo Potatoes from a (surprise!) Taste of Home magazine. What would I do without them? I made two different mixtures and then did a lot of layering. One bowl was filled with broccoli, cubed cooked turkey and swiss cheese.

IMG_8962

 

IMG_8963

Another bowl was alfredo sauce, almond milk (instead of whole) and garlic powder. In my large, glass baking dish I put some of the sauce in the bottom, then thinly sliced potatoes (which I cut myself peeling- that’s never happened before!!), S+P, parmesan cheese and then the turkey/broccoli/swiss mix. Layered this 3 times and ended with potatoes and extra swiss on the very top.

IMG_8964

This baked while I was at the gym doing TRX. FINALLY back in the gym! I was a little late due to a kid getting picked up late so I only got about 20 minutes in so after TRX I did 15 minutes on the arc trainer (.75 miles). It felt so good to be back. It’s great having my Fitbit too except I keep forgetting about it so I will start an activity record and then forget to stop it for like 3 hours. I need to get the hang of it again so I can track calories burned too! Back at home it was time to eat.

IMG_8965

As I have already stated, this was SO good. I mean, if you like cheese and potatoes and broccoli and alfredo sauce combined which I happened to think was a home run.

IMG_8967

Zach liked the turkey in it and I thought it was fine but honestly next time I could do less turkey and more broccoli!

IMG_8969

We ate while watching our next top 250 movie- Sunset Blvd. It’s a 50’s movie in black in white and has held our attention well so far. Zach had to go around 8:30 to watch some college football championship or something (ha!) with guy friends and after I spent a little time with the Gilmore Girls I went to bed at a nice earrrrrly time. Wonderful. 🙂 Oh! gazelled in the morning too.

Tuesday morning I also did the gazelle and had a slightly crazy workday. My poor kids are definitely starting to get cabin fever, it’s been months since we’ve been able to play outside, and I fear we will be cooped up for an indefinite amount of time… After work Zach and I had a ton of random things to accomplish despite the fact that all I really wanted to do was lay on the couch and read. Instead I showered and we put stuff up in the attic and printed some things off at Zach’s parents and ran to the store for groceries and ran to a different store for supplies and ate leftovers and went to my parents to try to print something that we couldn’t at Zach’s parents and…bored yet? I was. Haha but at least I knocked some stuff off my to-do list. The little bit of evening that we had left we watched Dexter.

So I said I’d show some more cabinet progress and here you go-

IMG_8970

The whole left side of my kitchen has completed cabinets now (don’t mind the mess).

IMG_8971

Doing this by hand is definitely a big project but so much cheaper than buying new cabinets and it’s rewarding too! Here’s a comparison with the side of the kitchen that still needs done-

IMG_8973

We’ll keep a’workin on them!

10.5/1,200 miles.

Leave a Reply

