POST-CHRISTMAS WEEKEND

4 Jan

Friday morning instead of working I got to luxuriously sleep in until 10:30!!!!! Definitely a nice change. When Zach and I lazily got up and around we began the task of cleaning up the house and finding homes for alllll the new presents. In the midst of this I laced up my running shoes and set out in the neighborhood for a very quick 1.5 mile run. It was a really warm day for being the end of December! So nice, in fact, that after Zach and I cleaned some more, we went for a walk by the river.

IMG_8391 IMG_8395

It’s been a long time since we’ve taken a walk together outside and it was so nice. It’s one of the things I miss most in the winter.

IMG_8400

The rest of the afternoon was spent watching Netflix and playing more basketball on our game until we met friends at Puerto for dinner that evening! Earlier in the day, in light of my happiness at not working, I arranged an impromptu game night. So we all met to have Mexican food and then came back to our place for two of our new games- Cards Against Humanity and basketball.

IMG_8408

The group was Hillary and Jack, Steven, Nick, Betsy and Jacob and us. After people (mostly the boys) had gotten several rounds of basketball in (with Steven cheating every time he played me) we sat at the table for our card game.

IMG_8415 IMG_8416 IMG_8422

This game, I’ll say it again, is absolutely hilarious!!! We all spent the next hour or so cracking up and coming up with the most ridiculous things. It was great. 🙂 Then, with it being such a warm evening and all for winter, know what I said to everyone? “So…I’ve never been up on my roof with the Christmas lights lit up before…”

IMG_8426 IMG_8436

Boom. 🙂 I have great friends.

IMG_8449 IMG_8456

 

We sat up there talking and taking pictures much longer than you would think you could on a December night (well actually morning by this point…)

IMG_8463

Nick left after this and Hillary and Jack soon followed but Betsy and Jacob ran to their house and brought back the game “Things” and Steven, Zach and I and them (pretty sure that was just a terrible sentence…) played for quite awhile!

IMG_8467 IMG_8468

This game is as funny as Cards Against Humanity!! In fact, Zach and I have been looking to buy it since because it will be a great one to add to our collection. An incredibly fun night with good friends and a bed-time much, much later than it should be. The holidays are NO GOOD for my sleep schedule…

That late night led to sleeping waaaaay into the day on Saturday. I hate feeling like I lose a day to sleep but once in awhile it’s necessary just to stay sane! When we got moving we went to Barn for lunch where Zach got some amazing sandwich-

IMG_8472

 

And I got a shrimp po’ boy with poutine fries.

IMG_8473

No, I did not eat that all. 🙂 Boxed up half the sandwich and about 1/4 of the fries for later! We picked up a few last minute gifts and went back home to wrap them for the Christmas event that night. It was time for yet another Christmas, this one at Ron and Vicki’s house! You will not believe this but I don’t have a single picture. !?!?! I am EXTREMELY displeased about this. We ate yummy soup that Vicki made along with some other things, did our gift exchange and even played a game with Zach’s parents and grandparents and I don’t have a single candid or family shot. I think a lot of that is because Zach’s grandma wasn’t feeling great and we weren’t wanting to bother her with pictures. Still though, not one picture? C’mon Jordan. It was a good time though! Ron and Vicki seemed to like their redeemable coupon books from us and we got fun things including gift cards to help with our remodel (yay!!) and I got one of those head massager things that I can’t get enough of. We also laughed through Mad Gab which I am apparently pretty *ahem* decent at. 😉 When we got back home we watched a little Netflix before going to bed early. Time to catch up on sleep!!

Sunday morning brought church, leftovers for lunch and we started a new IMDB top 250 movie- There Will be Blood. Interesting one… I took a good long nap before doing some errands. Zach had a thing with the guys for awhile so I went to dinner at Steak ‘n Shake with Hillary and Jack then we went over to Nick’s and Zach met us there. We rented X-Men: First Class which now has me interested in the X-Men series even though I’ve never been a huge comic-book-turned-movie fan. And THAT, friends, was the weekend after Christmas. Now to catch up through the New Year and get back to real time!!

1,045/1,400 miles. 213.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

