CHRISTMAS APPARENTLY DOESN’T COME JUST ONCE A YEAR

16 Dec

The parties are never-ending!! Last night was yet another festive evening. First I had a busy go-go-go day of work (much like all the days last week) and squeezed my gazelle time in there. Zach was very busy too. He stayed home and worked on the cabinets alllll day and in between that he fixed his dish for the party that night. He had told our Bible study he was going to make a “surprise” and I didn’t even know what it was until he did it. His creation? Armadillo eggs. Sound strange? They are gooood! He filled halves of jalapeño with a mixture of cream cheese, cheddar cheese and spices, wrapped the whole thing in sausage and cooked them in the oven. I should have taken a picture. 😦

After work I went to the gym for 30 minutes (2.3 miles) on the treadmill. I ran a faster mile in 9:23 and then walked the rest at an incline and then fast pace. Luckily I didn’t have to prepare anything for the party when I got home because I had just made a double batch of my peppermint fudge the night before. I changed and Zach and I went over to one of our Bible study family’s house. They had it built specifically for them and it was beautiful, especially all decorated for Christmas. We didn’t wait long before digging into the feast. I had the best potato soup ever, a ham slider, crackers with dip, apples with caramel, an armadillo egg and a couple of pieces of fudge. Good thing I’ve been eating light each day and working out well with all the festivities!! 😉

Once we’d eaten we played some competitive games of Christmas pictionary. First it was 2 couples vs. the other 2 couples and Zach and I’s team creamed them. Then it was boys vs. girls and the girls team won by a landslide. Guess I must be a common denominator or something there… 😉 It was a lot of fun! The group also gave us a nice gift card to The Wedge (that new grilled cheese place) for having the study at our house each week. They know us well. 🙂 Zach and I had to hurry home though before everyone showed up for their nightly beer for Zach’s 12 beers of Christmas. It was just a few guys that night and so I went to bed pretty early. Unfortunately I didn’t fall asleep FOREVER and then had trouble staying asleep. It was a weird night. Thankfully I don’t feel too exhausted today because there’s lots to do!

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Supper – Christmas party food

1,023/1,400 miles. 202/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

