PRE-CHRISTMAS CHRISTMAS

13 Dec

On the road to Nashville, TN for a friend’s wedding while I type this! Very excited!! Friday came and I was so glad for Friday, pretty much exciting things happening every day until Christmas now!!! Yesterday’s thing was a Christmas with some of Zach’s family. First I had to get through the workday though – gazelle, cleaning, dinner prep and all. I felt like I didn’t sit down yesterday until almost 7pm. My contributions for the Christmas dinner were Cranberry-Dijon Pork Roast and Roasted Root Vegetables. The roast was pretty simple, I browned two pork loin roasts in butter

IMG_7617

and put them in two crockpots. Sprinkled a package of onion soup mix over the top of each while I melted whole berry cranberry sauce down in the remains of the butter. Cranberry sauce went over the top of the pork and they cooked the rest of the day. For my root vegetables I chopped onion, carrots,

IMG_7619

turnips

IMG_7620

and potatoes and tossed them in olive oil with rosemary/oregano/thyme/salt/pepper.

Zach put the veggies in the oven for me while I was at the gym doing 30 minutes of sprints on the treadmill (2.5 miles). I got ready in record time and drained the sauce off the pork and mixed it with dijon mustard. When the veggies were done roasting we were ready to eat.

IMG_7622

Ron and Vicki brought a strawberry spinach salad to go with the meal and that made up dinner!

IMG_7624

The other family members were Trent, Mary, Noah and Natalee. It’s always fun to be with the kids outside of daycare, totally different environment! Mary made a delicious peanut butter reese cup cheesecake that I had a small slice of after dinner. We had some fun…

IMG_7631 IMG_7635

Then we opened presents!

IMG_7641 IMG_7643

The kids seemed to love their new blow-up ball pit that Zach and I got for them. 🙂

IMG_7650

Of course blowing it up was a looot of hard work…

IMG_7646

Family pictures (not without entertainment and mishaps) followed:

IMG_7652 IMG_7659 IMG_7669

It was a fun evening of celebrating and visiting with family. They had to clear out around 9:30 because Zach and I had to do last-minute getting ready for Nashville stuff. That is the latest I have showered and blow-dried my hair in a looong time. We crashed around 11 and were up a little before 8 this morning to get ready and take off. More fun times to come. 🙂

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Dinner – salad, veggies, 1 pc. of pork, 1 piece of cheesecake

1,016.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

