JOY BUNDLES AND PASTA CASSEROLE

10 Dec

This week I hit two home-runs in a row with meals!! Love when I try new recipes and they turn out great. Let’s go to Monday first. Gazelle in the morning and a day full of doing Christmas things with the kids. We have so many crafts to make/stories to read/songs to sing/etc. over the next couple of weeks! I was also my usual strain of busy cleaning for Bible study with the added strain of putting alllll the dishes back into the cupboards. We had taken them all out for the sanding and priming and they were a mess all over the house and I had to get them cleaned up before people came over! Luckily I can paint the cabinets with the dishes inside. On top of all that, I prepped dinner! Joy Bundles and Rice was up to bat for Monday night. At nap I made a mix of cream cheese, green onion and tarragon that I think would have made a pretty good dip. This was the filling for the chicken though. I sliced my chicken breasts almost completely in half, seasoned them with salt and pepper, stuffed them with the cream cheese filling,

IMG_7592

wrapped them with turkey bacon and stuck them with toothpicks to hold the roll. I put them all in a large, greased baking dish and left it in the fridge until later.

IMG_7593

After work I didn’t have a lot of time to spend at the gym so I ran 1.5 miles in 15 minutes on the treadmill and hopped back off. I miss Monday night TRX. 😦 Hopefully it will start back up in January. When I got home I got back to work on dinner. I had to make the rice part of the meal and get it simmering before Bible study started. Long grain rice went into a pot of chicken broth and freshly chopped garlic; brought this to a boil then immediately turned to simmering. Half-way through our 4 person study (it was just us and one other couple this night!) I took the rice off the burner and put the chicken in the oven. Our study is very understanding of me doing cooking things right in the middle of it all, they think I am Julia Childs in there. 😉 When it was back to just Zach and I, I pulled the chicken out of the oven and added lemon juice, lemon zest, butter, parsley and thyme to the rice.

IMG_7595

The chicken went on top of the rice and it made a GREAT dinner! (The little village people agree)

IMG_7597

My only critique is that I let the chicken cook a little too long, maybe just by a few minutes or so but there were bites that I thought were a bit dry. Next time I would cook between 20 -23 minutes. Other than that, excellent!

IMG_7598

The filling was especially good.

IMG_7600

We watched Stand by Me while we ate and after. This movie is based off a Stephen King novel and it was really good! Mom and Dad stopped by and they even got sucked into watching a little of it with us. 🙂 It was Mom’s birthday and she brought over chocolate cupcakes + penuche fudge that Grandma had given her to share with all of us. Couldn’t say no to that. 🙂 We were supposed to eat it all together so it would be like the chocolate cakes with penuche icing that Grandma used to make Mom when she was little. A delicious combination! When they left we finished the movie. It was that good that we couldn’t stop watching! Love when the top 250 gives us enjoyable films.

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice, corn chips (got suddenly ravenous so I ate some)
  • Supper – chicken w/rice, cupcake w/fudge

Tuesday seemed as busy as Monday, just in a different way. I think probably every day until after Christmas is going to feel this way! Gazelle + work + nap-time dinner prep. Tuesday’s meal was one of those wonderful ones where I could make the entire thing ahead of time and then just put it in the oven when I went to the gym – Shrimp in Angel Hair Pasta Casserole.

I greased a baking dish with butter and put cooked whole-wheat angel hair pasta in the bottom. The recipe called for fresh pasta but I didn’t buy any of that and cooking some dry worked just fine! On top of the noodles I put salsa. This was a strange but awesome addition! Next was a layer of shrimp followed by more cooked pasta.

IMG_7601

That’s still during the process. Separately I put the following into a bowl: 2 eggs, 1 cup of half and half, 1 cup of greek yogurt, 4 oz. swiss cheese, 1/3 cup of feta, dried parsley, dried oregano and fresh basil.

IMG_7602

I stirred this up and poured it over the top of the pasta and added the rest of the shrimp. Shredded monterey jack was the finishing touch and after work I popped this in the oven and went to the gym. Thirty minutes and 2 miles of walking on the treadmill later I came home to take this out of the oven and eat.

IMG_7603

SO GOOD! I love the baked pasta and all the cheese and the salsa was so interesting in it.

IMG_7605

This is absolutely something I would make again. 🙂 You should make it too! That is if you like pasta…and seafood… Zach and I’s night was pretty busy after eating. We had several stores to hit. First off he dropped me at Wal-Mart so I could make Christmas cards while he went to Lowe’s to get the paint for our cabinets (we finally chose a color!). Then we stopped at various places around town picking up Christmas gifts for people. I still have a lot to do but made a pretty decent dent in it all! We went to bed as soon as we got home. Well I went to sleep, Zach read in bed for quite awhile, he does that sometimes. Today is another very busy day. Tomorrow I am going to try to post some about the remodel that’s taking place in our house!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Supper – shrimp pasta

998.5/1,400 miles. 196/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

