THANKSGIVING COME QUICKLY

26 Nov

Madness in this house today. We had our Thanksgiving feast and I have extra kids (older ones) who are out of school and it is beyond crazy today. THANK GOODNESS I have the next 4 days off! God knows I need it.

I forgot to add on yesterday’s post (though I know it’s a given) that I did my morning gazelle time for Monday. I did it for Tuesday as well despite waking up battling a sore throat. All the kids have coughs/runny noses/sore throats right now and when it hurt to swallow Tuesday morning I knew I was fighting it too. I crossed my fingers and hoped my water, juices and vitamin C would help keep the cold at bay, I cannot afford to get sick right before Thanksgiving! Thankfully today I am feeling much better.

It was only new boys second day but it was already much less stressful than the day before. He has adapted so well and I couldn’t be happier! Doesn’t hurt that he’s pretty adorable too. 🙂 Good thing my day wasn’t as crazed because I made all of dinner ahead of time. It was a crockpot kind of day! We have venison in the freezer to use and I decided to incorporate it this week by making meatballs with it. Italian Meatball Subs to be exact. This came from Fix-It and Forget-It and the first half reminded me a lot of making meatloaf. In a bowl I mixed egg, bread crumbs, almond milk, parmesan cheese, salt, pepper, garlic powder, ground venison and pork sausage. Took off my wedding ring and got my hands nice and dirty squishing this around until it was completely mixed. Then I formed balls to brown on the stovetop.

IMG_7384

The browned meatballs went into the crockpot and then I made a sauce to cover them out of tomato sauce, tomato paste, onion, green pepper, dry red wine, water, garlic, oregano, salt and pepper.

IMG_7385

Poured that in and let it sit all day on low.

I initially was going to go to the gym after work but I felt so under the weather that I forced myself to skip it with the logic that I’d be twice as ready for a workout the next day if I let myself rest (and ready I am!!). Instead I showered and served us dinner. The recipe was supposed to be a sub but I improvised and we ate our meatballs on whole wheat hot dog buns. 🙂

IMG_7386

There’s nothing to complain about from this recipe, just wasn’t my favorite overall. Zach really liked it but I think maybe it was a little too sweet for my taste. They also weren’t quite as flavorful as I expected what with all the things I put in that crockpot!

IMG_7389

We finished Good Will Hunting and shared a cookie + scoop of ice cream from Insomnia Cookie. Reading time before bed and now I’m counting down the hours until I’m off work for a little holiday!!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Supper – meatball “sub”, 1/2 cookie w/ice cream

962.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

