PIZZA, PIZZA EVERYWHERE!

24 Nov

I’m not mourning the loss of the weekend as I typically do on a Monday because this is a three-day work week!! So basically today is like my Wednesday…the week is practically half over! 🙂 I love holiday weeks. Back on Saturday I got up and went to yoga (as I said) and it was a great hour of balancing and posing and being stretched. It always reminds me how important it is to not only work on flexibility and core strength but to take some time to slow down for a bit in the midst of a crazy busy life. After yoga I came home to shower, eat leftovers and menu plan before my day was taken over by football. Flag football, that is. Zach was playing all day in a flag football tournament that Harvest was putting on. I didn’t see his first game because I was still at yoga but they won and I showed up for the second. Luckily I could watch the game from the car because it was super windy outside! Run ‘n Gun (Zach’s team) lost their second game but Zach still managed to run in some touchdowns and make good catches. My man is FAST! During the down-time before he was scheduled to play again we hung out in the gym and I proceeded to lose in both ping pong and foosball… The next game Zach’s team played the “old guys”, several guys from the church in their 40’s and I had a fun time conversing through rolled-down car windows with wives in other cars.

IMG_7371

Even though these were the old guys, our pastor Sam is a great quarterback and they beat Zach’s team which knocked them out of the tournament. That was okay though because we had plans for the evening that we got to get started on a little earlier! After Zach showered we headed to Carmel for dinner at Pizzology. Indy (and the surrounding area) has sooo many different hand-crafted pizza places that all have their own fans who think they are the best. So far we’ve been to Napolese, Puccini’s Smiling Teeth, Bazbeaux and now Pizzology. So far our standing favorites are Napolese and Puccini’s, but Pizzology was still really good. We were huuuungry plus wanted some nutrients so we got their warm spinach salad to start.

IMG_7372

With little pieces of pancetta-red wine dressing, fresh tomatoes, capers and a poached farm egg this was an excellent salad! We wolfed it down which was the whole purpose of getting one. Now that we’d gotten our “wolfing down” out of the way we could savor and not over-eat our pizza. We went with the pizza they are perhaps most know for – the Lombardy.

IMG_7373

Prosciutto, arugula, smoked mozzarella and parmesan reggiano made for some good eating. The slices were huge, the cheese was stringy and the crust was perfect. I had one big slice and was perfectly satisfied! Like I said, this was some really good pizza and if it didn’t have competition I’d be perfectly happy eating all their styles. Unfortunately for Pizzology, Zach and I just didn’t think it quite measured up. We moved on from there to the second part of our date night- seeing Interstellar in IMAX! We don’t have an IMAX theater in Muncie which is why we found ourselves at the Hamilton 16 in Noblesville parking a quarter mile away from the theater and fighting the insane amounts of people to get in. Zach got the tickets while I got a small popcorn (bag of m&m’s already stashed in purse…). We don’t usually get theater snacks but this was a 3 hour movie and with it being IMAX and all it felt like a special occasion. 🙂

Note to selves: IMAX movies apparently start right on time. You know how there is usually a 15-20 minute window from when the movie says it starts to when it actually starts because of previews? No such window here. Luckily we were only a couple of minutes late and didn’t really miss anything important. This was my first IMAX movie and Interstellar was the perfect one to see on the BIG big screen. The movie was funny and sad and poignant and thoughtful and the graphics were totally awesome. This film makes you think and makes you want to go home and google things about relativity and cryo-genesis (which of course you know I did). Such cool concepts and some great acting made this a movie to see. We are picky about what we’ll actually spend money on to see in theaters and this one was definitely worth it!!

We got home a little after 11 and went straight to bed, it had been a full but fun day!

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 sl. toast, peach slices
  • Lunch – leftover broccoli frittata
  • Supper – 1/2 salad, 1 slice pizza, m&m’s, 1/4 small popcorn

Zach was up before me Sunday morning to go run slides and I got to sleep a glorious 10 hours! When I got up and got ready I realized just how much we needed to go to the grocery store. There was nothing to eat for breakfast! I wasn’t starving though so I just decided to head to church and grab something after. Sam preached a really great message that was directed toward women and it was encouraging and powerful and I was so glad I was there to hear it. After church and getting the kid’s groceries I swung by Noodles and Co. to grab a small med salad. I knew that back at home the only lunch food we had was pizza leftovers and I knew we’d be having pizza again that night and I needed some veggies between all that pizza!

Zach was outside raking before the rain and I managed to sneak in a 1.5 mile run in my neighborhood before it started coming down. I made it back inside with minutes to spare! Mom took a break from setting up her Christmas decorations to accompany me to the library booksale. You know, that quarterly sale I go to where the library gets rid of old stock and you can get an entire bag for $3? Yeah, I’m still working on reading books from the last time I went to that sale and I know I need more books like I need a hole in the wall but I just can’t help myself. 🙂 Pickings were slim but I still managed to get out with a bag full of stuff I can’t wait to get my hands on! Did you know I read multiple books at one time? I like to have options and variety and I started doing this a few years back and am addicted to the idea. I am currently reading AllegiantSphereShe Smiled Sweetly and Unstoppable. The first is my all-around, easy read; the second my sci-fi, makes you think, Michael Crichton book; the third a mystery; the fourth a Christian, true-story by Nick Vujicic who has no arms or legs. Like I said, variety. 😉

Once I got back home Zach and I went to the store in the pouring rain and then hurried over to Nick’s house for a Walking Dead mini-marathon. Nick’s been out of town the past couple of weeks so we had two episodes to catch up on before the current one that night. It was the usual crew of Zach and I, Hillary, Nick, Andre and Jack. We ordered Pizza King pizzas, Nick made grilled potatoes and Hillary made cookies and I ate lots of everything! Haha I was hungry! It’s so much fun watching the show with everybody. The clever comments and witty banter never ends and thank goodness for the closed captioning or we’d never know what they were saying over the sounds of our own voices. 🙂 It was straight to bed after that and I needed a good night’s sleep since I had a new kid starting this morning! Who is doing pretty good so far by the way.

YAY Holiday week!!!

Sunday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – nothing
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – 8 pcs. Pizza King, potatoes, 4 cookies

959.5/1,400 miles. 186/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

