THE WEDGE

21 Nov

I am so thankful it’s Friday today. The kids have been absolutely insane and I am more than ready for a weekend!!! Yesterday wasn’t too bad of a workday though (gazelle per usual) and after work I went to the gym to run. While I was at the gym my sweet husband was fixing the baseboards in my classroom where too much cold air has been getting in. I simply told him it was a little chilly around certain areas and he showed up at home with a plethora of tools and supplies and worked out there for over an hour! I have to say I could already tell a difference today. 🙂

Zach was stuffing insulation and I was running 2 miles in 20 minutes exactly. That’s the fastest I’ve run 2 miles in quite some time and while it wasn’t what I’d call simple, it was good to prove to myself I could do it. I did a total of 30 minutes (2.55 miles) on the treadmill, walking after I’d finished running. When I got home I told Zach I had something fun I wanted to do for dinner so we got in the car and I gave him directions until we were getting close and he said “Are we going to that new grilled cheese place?” Haha indeed we were. I was hoping he hadn’t heard of The Wedge, a brand-new, tiny grilled cheese shop in Yorktown. Turns out he’d heard about it but hadn’t been yet and we were looking forward (as always) to trying out something new. The Wedge was super small, maybe about 6 tables, but the people were friendly and the menu was filled with grilled cheese varieties. In true Zach and Jordan fashion we chose 2 that sounded good and ordered them both with the intent of eating half of each one. We also got a cup of chicken and rice soup which I forgot to take a picture of but it was surprisingly good! Very flavorful! Here’s the insides of my two halves of the sandwiches (plus pickle):

IMG_7370

One half (the one on top) was Papaw’s Favorite: turkey, smoked gouda, cheddar and some type of sauce. The one on the right was the Cowboy: cheddar, american, beef jerky and chipotle sauce. I initially thought Papaw’s was my favorite and while I did like the turkey a lot, the chipotle mayo on the Cowboy ended up stealing the show. Very good! I wouldn’t call this place fancy or all that inventive, still very basic ingredients put together but it was still delicious, not to mention cheap. It will be fun to go back and try other combinations sometime!

At home we finished The King’s Speech, did a little reading, shared an ice cream and laughed at our funny one-eyed cat.

IMG_7367

Come quickly weekend, I’m ready for you!!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Supper – 1/2 soup, sandwich, 1/2 sundae

954/1,400 miles. 184.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

