BACK IN THE KITCHEN

19 Nov

I have recipes to share! And healthy things to post about! Haha just in time for the holiday season am I right? I’d better be vigilant over the next month and a half if I don’t want to grow out of all my winter clothes. 😉 Monday morning I woke up with renewed purpose, jumped on the gazelle and then downed a juice. I did have some nachos for lunch but better choices were being made overall! Thirty minutes of TRX after work and then no Bible study this Monday. It got moved to Tuesday this week which meant I didn’t have to clean, clean, clean which was kind of nice. I did however completely make dinner besides the final baking it in the oven part.

First meal to make in awhile? Three Cheese and Pepper Penne torn out of a Taste of Home. This recipe called for chicken but I left it out and used a little more pasta instead to make it a vegetarian dinner. While the pasta cooked I sautéed mushrooms in a skillet. That all went fine but unfortunately the next part did not. In a separate pan from the mushrooms I cooked garlic in butter (let the butter brown a little too much but I kept going) then added flour and almond milk. After bringing this to a boil I had to leave the pan alone for mere moments and it ruined the whole thing. Back to chopping more garlic and melting more butter… This time it all went fine and I stirred the mix vigilantly and realized while doing so that I had used VANILLA almond milk instead of regular. Oh my word. I said forget it, I’m not starting over, and just added a little more salt and pepper than it called for to try to contradict the sweetness. Good grief. I stirred in the mushrooms plus roasted red peppers, mozzarella, provolone and parmesan to make a cheesy, thick sauce. Tossed the pasta in the sauce and it went into a baking dish to be topped with more parmesan and bake in the oven after TRX.

IMG_7345

The recipe wanted me to bake it covered but it was so full I was afraid all the cheese would just melt onto the foil so I left it off and it gave the top a nice crust, I rather liked that!

IMG_7346

We used red pepper flakes (of course) and it was really, really good! It almost reminds me of the baked alfredo I get except much healthier plus a strange vanilla flavor… Haha actually it wasn’t too bad for having used the wrong milk but I definitely would not do that again!

IMG_7348

Thought I should utilize my snowman bowl considering what it looks like outside…

IMG_7349

The King’s Speech while we ate, a little reading, a little drive, a little snack, a little Dexter and then bed.

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – nachos
  • Supper – pasta, mini sundae

Tuesday morning was gazelle and juice again. My days can be rather similar… 🙂 Although there was a lot more cleaning than usual on this Tuesday since Bible study was that evening. There wasn’t much I could do for my recipe ahead of time but I did chop onions and garlic.

IMG_7351

After work I had a limited amount of time to spend at the gym. For 20 minutes (1.62 miles) I was on the treadmill and I ran a mile faster than I have run one in quite some time- 9:34. Still not an awesome mile but it felt good to push myself while running more than I have been. Walked at an incline the rest of the time and then I had to get home and get dinner ready before people showed up. This recipe was Chipotle Chili Pepper Soup from Quick Soups, Simple Salads. It was pretty *ahem* simple (see what I did there?) to throw this together before Bible study. I cooked my onion + garlic in some oil in a dutch oven and cut up chicken into little pieces.

IMG_7352

Chicken went in the oil too to cook for a few more minutes and then everything else was added to the dutch oven -chicken broth, chipotle peppers canned in adobo sauce,

IMG_7350

sugar and salt. It did not look like very much soup at all so I added more chicken broth. Brought it to a boil and then let is simmer alllll Bible study. It was only supposed to simmer 15 minutes but I turned it very, very low and let it go for 45. Simmering longer only enhances the flavors more in my opinion!

IMG_7353

After a good group study (started the book of Philippians, a book on joy!) I added cilantro and a can of diced tomatoes to the soup and we ate up.

IMG_7354

Excellent soup!! We both really loved it and had two critiques: one- could add even more chipotle peppers because it was not in any way too spicy for us, two- make a double batch next time!! Our only complaint was that we didn’t have hardly any leftovers.

IMG_7355 IMG_7356

Movie for the night? Rain Man. Can’t believe I have never seen this classic! We watched the majority of it and it is really fantastic. Dustin Hoffman as an autistic savant is brilliant. Hooray for a healthier week so far! 🙂

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Supper – soup, 1 pc. cheesecake

947.5/1,400 miles. 182.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

