JUICING DAY TWO

29 Oct

Juicing on Tuesday was partially much, MUCH better and partially not great. You’ll see what I mean… Tuesday morning I gazelled and Zach made Peak Performance for breakfast.

IMG_6392

Finally a good one!! This was not just tolerable, it was actually enjoyable! First juice I have actually finished. I meant yesterday to list the things that went into the drink and forgot so I will start doing that today. This one contained-

  • green apple
  • strawberries
  • mixed berries (it was supposed to be cherries but we couldn’t find any to buy!!)
  • celery
  • cucumber
  • lemon

IMG_6393

Our compost bin is really getting a workout with all this juicing!

IMG_6394

As I said, this is the first juice I have enjoyed and it went down just fine. Lunch was a different story…

IMG_6397

Our lunch was called Beet the Competition. Can you believe I have never bought beets in that form before? Well we used it all- leaves, stalk and root. The ingredients for this one were-

  • Carrots
  • Kale
  • Beet + leaves
  • Ginger
  • Lemon
  • Garlic

IMG_6396

When I read up on juicing with beets, it warned that they can give off quite an earthy flavor that can be overwhelming but I didn’t find that to really be much of a problem. The texture on this wasn’t bad either. I barely drank half of this juice though because I thought it was the worst one. So what WAS the problem then?

IMG_6398

 

The garlic. Oh my goodness. For the first couple of bites I actually appreciated the garlic because I thought it added a savory taste that made it seem more meal-like but then it got to me. It was so over-powering that I couldn’t taste anything else (no wonder it wasn’t too earthy) and I had to choke down each sip. This one was rough. I told Zach “Okay, we already decided no more peels, well I am adding no more garlic to that list!!”

At the gym after work I ran sprints for 30 minutes on the treadmill (2.32 miles). They weren’t my fastest sprints because I still felt a little run down but I have to say, I had much more energy on Tuesday than I did on Monday. Maybe the juice is starting to work it’s magic… We went to Mom and Dad’s for supper and dug into grilled veggies, chicken thighs with tomatoes in a creamy sauce and apple tartlets. Everything was extra delicious. 🙂 I love chewing food. Caught up on Biggest Loser, came home and finished Amelie (such an unusual film), read a little and called that a night!

3 more days of juicing ahead and 3 more days until the party of the year!

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – juice
  • Lunch – juice
  • Supper – veggies, 1 1/2 small chicken thighs, apple tartlet

905.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

