SHEPHERD’S PIE

23 Oct

Last night’s supper turned out even better than I thought it would!! I made Shepherd’s Pie in the crockpot from Fix-it and Forget-it: Slow Cooker Recipes and it is definitely one I would pull back out to make again. Wednesday morning- gazelle, Wednesday afternoon- fixing dinner, Wednesday evening – wine with Hillary at Johnny Carino’s and Wednesday night- cards, Catching Fire (yayyyy for that being on Netflix!!) and supper with Zach.

Here’s how my meal prep went down. First I mixed several spices in a bowl- salt, red pepper flakes, paprika, oregano, pepper and chili powder.

IMG_6260

I added vinegar and lean pork until the spices coated all the pork.

IMG_6263 IMG_6269

Cooked the pork in a skillet until browned and then added onions and cooked until caramelized. In a separate pot I was boiling 3 large potatoes. When my meat was done I put it in the bottom of the skillet and poured a can of corn over the top. When the potatoes were done, or so I thought, I took them out to mash them in a bowl. Make sure your potatoes are totally soft all the way through!! I pierced mine all over with a fork and thought they were good but then when I went to mash them by hand I discovered how not soft the middle really was…it took a lot of arm strength!! I stirred in salt, pepper, butter and almond milk with the potatoes and this made the top layer in the crockpot.

IMG_6270

It cooked on low for 3 hours and I added shredded cheddar cheese just a few minutes before we were ready to eat.

IMG_6274

What a good meal!!! Hearty and full of flavor! The pork was really, really good.

IMG_6275

Zach and I were glued to our movie but didn’t get to finish it. This is the first time we’ve watched it since we saw it in theaters last Thanksgiving and I already want it to be tonight so we can watch the rest!! 🙂

892.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

