BREAD PUDDING FOR DESSERT OR FOR BREAKFAST OR JUST BECAUSE

30 Sep

Just two more days until my birthday! 🙂 Although my actual birthday won’t be all that exciting, it falls on a Thursday and I have work followed by soccer games but over the next…month…I have a whole line-up of fun birthday events happening!

  • Friday Zach is taking me out on a birthday date
  • Next Wednesday Mom and Dad are taking us out to a cool restaurant for my birthday
  • Next Friday Hillary is taking me somewhere for a birthday surprise getaway (possibly overnight!)
  • Mom is taking me birthday shopping on some free day
  • Kori is taking me out for my birthday when she visits sometime between the 23rd and 26th
  • Big birthday getaway weekend with Zach not until November 7th!! October is so busy that we have a ton going on and that’s the first weekend we can both go somewhere so we are doing it up in style and making it a double birthday getaway since it will fall in the middle of our birthdays. 🙂

EEE! Can’t wait for all the fun!! Yesterday was a good, productive Monday. Morning gazelle, cleaning for Bible study per usual, kids did a good job and lots of nap-time kitchen time. There was not a lot I could do ahead of time for this Monday’s dinner of Curried Chicken Calcutta from Treasury of Creative Cooking, but I did make a spice bowl that would be used for coating my chicken later.

IMG_5640

It was a mix of flour, curry powder, cinnamon, ginger and garlic powder. I set that aside for later use and got started on apple project #2 of the week – Apple Raisin Bread Pudding from Taste of Home. If you like bread pudding go to that link and make this recipe!! Make it for a brunch or a dessert or just for yourself! Taste of Home so rarely disappoints. 🙂 The first task was tearing this cinnamon bread into cubes-

IMG_5641

The recipe called for a loaf of day-old cinnamon-raisin bread but I went to our local bakery, Concannon’s, on Sunday and all they had was cinnamon bread. I decided to get it and the raisins in myself. Next was the should-be-hard job of peeling/coring/slicing/chopping several apples but thanks to my incredible apple master the job was completed in no time.

IMG_5643

I tossed the apples and bread together and then put them in a baking dish coated with melted butter.

IMG_5644

 

Look how many eggs this recipe calls for!

IMG_5646

I mixed up eggs, almond milk, sugar and vanilla extract and poured it over the bread + apples. Sprinkled with raisins right before putting it in the oven to bake.

IMG_5649

When it came out I cooled it and put it in the fridge and that was all for the time-being. Finished out the work day and made it to the gym a few minutes early for once to TRX. One great, shoulder-busting half hour later and I was leaving the gym to rush home and finish last minute cleaning. Bible study was great learning and fun socializing per usual (minus my husband per usual) and once everyone left I picked up where I had left off with my chicken recipe.

IMG_5650

Dredged chicken breasts in the spice mix and cooked them in vegetable oil until the pink was gone. I made some mixed veggies in my steamer and a sauce for the chicken from greek yogurt + lime juice.

IMG_5651

Dinner was fine. It wasn’t gross or even bad but it just wasn’t anything special.

IMG_5655

 

The chicken was really, really juicy so I did appreciate that but I just didn’t love the spice rub or the yogurt topping. The veggies were also so-so since they were a little freezer burnt…

IMG_5652

Oh well, it still was satisfying and healthy and at least I got to enjoy something far more exciting after!

IMG_5656

On the stove I made a glaze for the bread pudding from sugar, water, salt and cornstarch. When dealing with cornstarch you have to stir, stir, stir constantly and while I was doing this an enormous brown spider came running across the kitchen floor at my bare feet. I was trying to decide what to do because if I stopped stirring for even an instant the glaze would burn and/or bubble over. There was no way I was stomping on a spider that big with bare feet though. Finally I settled on lifting the pan off the heat, snagging a paper towel and sending that creepy thing into the next life as swiftly as possible! After my topping was thickened I removed it from the heat and stirred in butter + vanilla.

IMG_5657

The glaze is clear so you can barely see it in the photos but it made a significant addition to the dish! MMM! Love me some bread pudding. I had a Netflix/couch evening alone and Zach didn’t get home until after I’d already gone to bed. Just two weeks of soccer left…we can make it…

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – strawberries, 2 mini apple crumbles
  • Lunch – broccoli & cauliflower w/pasta sauce
  • Supper – chicken, veggies, bread pudding

835.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

