REDEMPTION

26 Sep

Thank GOODNESS for last night’s supper making up for the less-than-satisfactory dinner of Wednesday. I mean seriously though, worlds better! Gazelle in the morning and then at nap-time it was the rather extensive process of putting together Makeover Meat-Lover’s Lasagna from a Taste of Home: Healthy Cooking magazine. They took a meaty lasagna recipe that started at 513 calories a slice (which still sounds low for lasagna to me!) and turned it into a 298 calories-per-slice meal. Lots of prep for the individual ingredients went down and then the cooking started. First up turkey sausage, lean ground beef, green peppers and onion were cooked in a skillet until the meat was no longer pink.

IMG_5533

 

I drained off the skillet and added a cup of marinara and brought to boiling. Reduced the heat and let this simmer and got started on part two. Cream cheese was melted in a skillet while I chopped some parsley.

IMG_5532

Took the melted cream cheese off the heat and stirred in 1 egg, 1% cottage cheese and parsley to make what turned out to be a delicious filling.

IMG_5534

I sprayed a baking dish with cooking spray and put all of the meat/veggie/pasta sauce in as the first layer.

IMG_5535

 

Layer 2 was 3 whole wheat lasagna noodles (already cooked and drained) followed by 4 oz. of Italian cheese blend, Italian seasoning and then the cream cheese mixture.

IMG_5536

Layer 3 was three more lasagna noodles, the rest of the jar of spaghetti sauce, mozzarella and more Italian seasoning.

IMG_5537

Check out those layers!

IMG_5538

Now the hard part was done and I got to stick it in the fridge for the afternoon. At the end of the workday I popped it in the oven, covered, and set out in my neighborhood for a 2 mile run. It has (sadly) been a little while since I have ran 2 straight miles and I expected it to take a long time but I was back in the door at 21 minutes so overall that’s not too terrible! It was a beautiful evening for running too. 🙂 When my timer dinged I removed the foil and baked the dish for another 10 minutes, let it cool for 15 and then could finally cut and serve it.

IMG_5540

IMG_5541

 

Excellent lasagna!! I really loved the cheesy filling, I don’t think I have ever used cream cheese when making lasagna before.

IMG_5542

I loved every single bite and will absolutely make this again sometime.

IMG_5543

I binge watched Revenge for the next couple of hours and it was lovely. I was going to go see Zach’s soccer game but by the time I finished eating I was worn out and couldn’t get myself into the idea of getting ready, driving myself out there, sitting in the cold and getting bit by bugs. His team did win though! 🙂 When Zach got home I fixed him a plate and he appreciated the pasta every bit as much as I did. Unfortunately all I did was stay up to watch him eat a few bites and then went to bed. I am so thankful it’s the weekend finally and we get to spend more than 10 minutes a day together! I always miss him during soccer season but it’s starting to wind down…

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – blueberry oatmeal
  • Lunch – egg white veggie scramble
  • Supper – lasagna

824.5/1,400 miles. 162/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

