CHILDREN STOLE MY ENERGY

19 Sep

So far today is going in much better fashion than yesterday and that is GOOD news because yesterday was rough. No one thing in particular, just had my full group right up until the end of the day and they were all in rambunctious, loud form. By the time the day was over I was completely wiped out. I had plans to go running and plans to go see Zach’s soccer game and plans to cook dinner and the only thing that actually panned out was cooking dinner. And I almost bailed on that one except for the fact that I had already done the majority of the prep work!

I did still do my gazelle in the morning (back when I had energy) and then at nap-time I prepared my two meal components. Dinner was a combo of Roasted Potatoes and Artichokes and Jalapeno-Apricot Pork Tenderloin. For the potato dish I quartered red potatoes and mixed them with a can of quartered artichoke hearts in a large roasting pan. They were seasoned with olive oil, thyme, salt and pepper.

IMG_5415

For the pork loin I trimmed it of fat and then put it in a marinade that was composed of olive oil + garlic + oregano + salt + cumin + ground coriander.

IMG_5417

That was left in the fridge for the afternoon. Once work was done and I gave myself a lecture about how I HAD to fix dinner since it was mostly ready, I popped the veggies in the oven to roast. A glaze was made for my meat out of apricot preserves + lime juice + jalapeño + cumin + garlic salt.

IMG_5421

After the pork loin cooked for about 15 minutes I brushed some of the glaze on it and let it cook longer. The remaining glaze was served on top of the pork after it came out of the oven and was sliced.

IMG_5422

The potato dish verdict: it was all a little dry, the potatoes were otherwise great and the artichokes were completely unnecessary.

IMG_5423

I put a little ketchup on the top since it was dry and I think that next time if I am making this ahead I shouldn’t put the olive oil on and then put it in the fridge. The oil should probably only go on right before cooking. You live and learn right? The artichokes got a little woody and contributed no flavor so my take on this is to roast potatoes with asparagus next time and see how I feel about that.

IMG_5424

The pork was very good! The marinade was incredible flavorful and the meat was juicy and tender. I honestly could have done without the apricot in the glaze but I am never crazy about fruit paired with meat. I made this knowing it was more a “Zach” dish than a “Jordan” dish and I was definitely right about that.

IMG_5425

After I ate my Dad called and coerced me into coming over and visiting with them so I caved and went over there for awhile. Dad and I ended up going on a 15 minute walk around the neighborhood at dusk which was really nice. 🙂 When I got home I stayed up only long enough to fix Zach’s plate, talk with him while he ate and then crashed. I was ready for that day to be done!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – pancakes
  • Lunch – egg white veggie scramble
  • Supper – potatoes + artichokes, pork loin, 3 mini cookies

800.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

