PUTTING THE KITCHEN TO GOOD USE

12 Sep

I was in the kitchen quite a bit yesterday and I loved it!! I was feeling much better than I did Wednesday. Not 100% by any means, but still a far cry from the comatose girl of the day before. I did my 30 minutes of gazelle in the morning and while I didn’t do a formal workout after work, I did do push-ups and some pull-up practice. Getting better one day at a time… During nap-time I got everything ready for my dinner of Shrimp Rolls from So Easy. It was a healthy take on a lobster roll and the best part was that I could make it all ahead of time and let it chill in the fridge! I chopped celery…

IMG_5352

 

Juiced a lemon…

IMG_5353

 

The secret to getting good freshly squeezed lemon juice (or lime, or orange, or whatever) is to firmly roll the fruit beneath your palm for a bit until it isn’t so firm. In a bowl I combined the celery, lemon juice, chopped scallions, greek yogurt and light mayonnaise. Then I de-tailed and chopped a whole pound of shrimp.

IMG_5354

The shrimp was mixed in with the other stuff plus salt and pepper and it went in the fridge for later! Want to know something I JUST realized while typing this post? I didn’t have lunch yesterday!! Oh my word how did that happen?! I even remember thinking I had eaten but I didn’t. This from the girl who rarely forgets a meal. Zach had gotten us breakfast in the morning and I was really full after and I guess it held me so well that I didn’t even consider eating in the afternoon…crazy!

After work it was kitchen time round two and I dragged all my baking gear out. I am getting that fall baking bug. 🙂 The first thing of the season to bake? Banana Bread with Chocolate Glaze. This was a recipe torn out of Cooking Light and I’d been eyeing it for quite some time. When I had more bananas than I could eat and they began to look like this…

IMG_5356

I knew it was time to put that recipe to use! First I beat butter and sugar together in my wonderful Kitchen Aid. Added bananas, almond milk, greek yogurt (instead of sour cream) and egg whites using the “slosh the yolk back in forth in the shell method”.

IMG_5357

 

Next I mixed the dry ingredients and sifted them in – whole wheat flour, baking soda and salt. It stressed not to over-beat the batter so I left the mixer on only until it was just combined. Then I poured it all in a loaf pan:

IMG_5359

This baked in the oven for an hour and then set on a rack out in our solarium to cool. Cotton could barely be roused from his happy sleep spot to sniff the air.

IMG_5360

While the bread cooled I fixed my dinner. All that was left to do was spritz a whole wheat hot dog bun with olive oil and lightly toast it in a skillet. Then I stuffed the bun with lettuce and the shrimp mix for a midwest version of the lobster roll!

IMG_5361

Clearly this was not as good as a real lobster roll, especially since just last year Zach and I were having them in Maine…but for a non-lobster, healthed up version I really liked it!

IMG_5362

One of the best parts of a lobster roll (or shrimp roll in this case) is the cold filling with the warm, toasty bread. Zach was gone at an away game and still hasn’t had one, can’t wait for him to try it!

IMG_5365

By the time I had finished eating my banana bread had cooled and I made a chocolate glaze out of half and half + semi-sweet chocolate.

IMG_5367

I let the glaze set and my food digest before cutting myself a nice big slice out of the middle for the second half of my supper. 🙂

IMG_5369

Yes, a bread heavy dinner, but SO worth it. This bread was excellent! Especially warm. The only thing I would do differently is use a little less flour next time. I forgot that when subbing ww flour for white that you don’t usually need as much. Other than that though, fabulous! My mother-in-law came by and I made her have a slice and she seemed to like it too. She got me out of the house and took me over to a big 100+ year house that they recently bought to fix up and sell. It was a pretty cool old house with crazy colors painted in each room. One room even had a lavender ceiling! It was nice to get out for awhile and visit before I returned to my Netflix (flying through Revenge!). Went to bed after an episode…or two…and Zach showed up sometime in the night. Sigh. I will be glad to reclaim him once soccer is over!

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – cinnamon roll, 1/2 breakfast burrito
  • Lunch – nothing!!
  • Supper -shrimp roll, 1 pc. banana bread

P.S. Zach had some banana bread this morning and loved it 🙂

777.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

