MEXICAN WITHOUT THE GREASE

9 Sep

Yesterday was so incredibly busy. From straightening the whole house to dishes, dusting, windex-ing, toilet scrubbing, litter box changing, sweeping, washing counters, changing trash, exercising, lots of dinner prep and oh yeah, actually WORKING, I barely sat down for a minute! During nap-time I had a fair amount of work to do to get dinner ready. Luckily it was one of those perfect-for-Monday dinners where I could make the whole thing ahead of time and keep it in the fridge until Bible study was done. I made 20-Minute Chicken Enchiladas from a Cooking Light magazine. Here’s the rundown of my prep-work:

  • Chop up onions
  • In a saucepan combine onion, chicken stock, flour, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, crushed red pepper, salt and a can of tomato sauce

IMG_5344

  • Cook a couple of minutes at boiling until thickened; while cooking shred chicken from a rotisserie chicken (discard skin)

IMG_5343

  • Reserve 1 1/2 cups of the sauce then add the chicken + black beans to the rest of the sauce mixture and cook until heated
  • Wrap corn tortillas in damp paper towels and heat in microwave
  • Spoon 1/3 C of chicken mixture into a tortilla, roll up and place in baking dish seam side down

IMG_5346

  • Once all the chicken mixture has been distributed into all the tortillas, cover with reserved sauce

IMG_5347

  • Top with shredded mexican blend cheese

At this point I covered it with plastic wrap and stuck it in the fridge. My busy day continued but luckily I ended work a few minutes early and got to the gym by 5:30. The 5:30 thing was important because guess what?? TRX is back!!!! It’s only a half hour now but every Monday from 5:30 to 6:00 I get to do TRX. It was wonderful and while my mind remembered the moves and form flawlessly, my body did NOT handle it as flawlessly. I did everything but it was definitely tougher that when it ended last May. I can’t wait to start building my strength back up. TRX is just another great tool in my back pocket for Tough Mudder training!

I hurried home after class to do some last minute cleaning before Bible study. We had a good study finishing up the last chapter of I Timothy (which has some incredibly good things to say, especially about money and material things) and then everyone went their separate ways. I put my enchiladas under the broiler and while they cooked I chopped cilantro and tomato to top the dish off with.

IMG_5348

Thanks to Cooking Light, enchiladas that are usually upwards of 700 calories apiece were only 375 for 2 PLUS a tablespoon of sour cream. Since my “sour cream” is actually greek yogurt and I used fat-free cheese, I imagine ours were even lighter than that.

IMG_5349

Excellent dinner! These were some seriously good enchiladas and Zach kept commenting on how much he loves mexican food and couldn’t believe how healthy this dinner was. 🙂

IMG_5350 IMG_5351

It was pretty dusky but we went for a walk after dinner which was great. I absolutely love our walks and we haven’t gotten to have very many lately so I really appreciate them when we have the chance to take one. We walked around our neighborhood for about 20 minutes before taking a drive, getting a snack and watching Dexter.

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – breakfast “nachos” (Zach made egg + sausage + onion + cheese over tortilla chips!)
  • Lunch – leftover pasta, 1 cookie
  • Supper – 2 enchiladas
  • Snack – sundae

All right. Now that I’ve done better on re-incorporating good exercise and mostly eliminating drinks, it’s time to tackle the snack thing. I get in such a habit where I decide I want a snack every single night (regardless of whether I am hungry or not) and it’s always a tough one to break. So starting tomorrow, at least for the rest of September, my new rule is no snacks UNLESS I make them. I figure that a) this will mean only eating if I am genuinely hungry since I have to take the time to make something and b) they are bound to be better than something I pick up from somewhere since I can control what goes in them!

774.5/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

