DOING THINGS WE HAVEN’T IN AWHILE

8 Sep

First weekend of September down and one of my two allotted days for drinks is down as well! I used up my “bonus” day on Saturday as I figured I would since we attended a friend’s birthday party. Now the only day I have left will be September 20th when we go down to Bloomington. I must say that I am truly looking forward to the rest of the other-wise drink-free month!

Friday night I went to bed by 11:15 and then slept until 10:15 Saturday morning! I was out like a light and was apparently still catching up on sleep. I had planned to workout when I got up but I was so pressed for time I moved it to later. Instead I quickly showered and got ready and went straight to the soccer fields to watch Zach’s boys team. They played a close game and won 3-2. I had left the house in shorts and a t-shirt but even though it had been 90 degrees the previous day, it was only in the 60’s on Saturday! That’s Indiana for you… So I was pretty cold, especially with wet hair, and spent the game wrapped up in a quilt haha. Zach and I made a pit stop on the way home and had lunch at Concannon’s; hadn’t done lunch there in awhile and it was good.

After lunch we menu-planned for the week and then decided to incorporate exercise with fun. We laced up, grabbed rackets and balls, and played some tennis for a good 45 minutes. We played game after game and I never won a single match or set or game or whatever you call it! Haha I played terribly! Other than that it was a lot of fun. We hadn’t played tennis in quite some time, which may account for how awful I was, but I always like how it’s a great workout hidden in a game. We decided to keep the activity going and played a couple games of HORSE at the park in our neighborhood; with a soccer ball no less. I also lost both games of that as well…not my finest athletic moments…

Apparently keeping in the vein of doing things we don’t usually do, Zach and I caught an early-evening movie at the theater! We saw The Giver which is based on the kid’s book of the same name by Lois Lowry. It wasn’t outstanding and for being a dystopian type movie (which are so popular right now), it definitely didn’t fall in the same category as Hunger Games or Divergent. That being said, it was still a good movie and we did enjoy it. It even had a little cameo by Taylor Swift! It had been cool and overcast when we went into the theater and we emerged just a couple of hours later it was sunny and warm! Neither one of us were hungry for dinner yet so we made an easy decision to get on the roof and enjoy some wine. 🙂

IMG_5283 IMG_5307

It’s always fun on the roof.

IMG_5284

When the sun went down and we pulled ourselves away, we went over to Mom and Dad’s to play a fierce game of double euchre. We started out smashingly, then fell behind badly, then finally pulled out a win. While there I ate a random breadstick they had brought home from Olive Garden and we drank some delicious apple-cinnamon wine they had picked up from a winery earlier.

IMG_5331

From there it was on to our friend Andre’s house for his birthday party. We weren’t sure how long we would stay but we ended up being there for the whole thing!

IMG_5333

We played ping pong and other games and sat around talking too until everyone decided they wanted to walk to campus to go out. Zach and I didn’t want to do the whole “going out” thing so we walked to campus with them and got a hot dog from Carter’s (the BEST hot dog cart ever) and walked back to our car. We came home and watched some Titanic, a favorite habit for us. Then we made the not-so-awesome late night decision to get Taco Bell since we’d never eaten a proper supper…HA! I only ever eat Taco Bell after 2am a couple of times a year. Zach got 3 things for us to share and I had bites of each but got full quickly. Full + the late time meant that bed wasn’t far behind and we were out.

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1/2 banana
  • Lunch – small salad, 1/2 soup, 1/2 cookie
  • Supper – breadstick, hot dog, bites of a taco + quesadilla + crunch wrap, 1 cocktail, 4 glasses wine

Sunday morning, despite not getting a ton of sleep, we dragged ourselves from bed and to church. I was SO glad we did because not only was it a great service (and you should always choose church over sleep unless you’re sick) but we found out about a Sunday night class starting that night that I wouldn’t have known about otherwise. It had been too long since we’d been to Barn Brasserie so we headed over there after church for brunch. I didn’t have my camera but I DID have some delicious food. I had a float to drink- a strawberry-rhubarb fizzy drink with homemade ice cream in it, excellent! For my meal I got a Barn brunch burger which is a sausage patty, cheese, egg, sausage gravy and bacon on a bun and it comes with fries which are some of the best fries. It was great but I got full quickly and Zach cleaned my plate. 🙂 His pork belly tacos and cheddar grits were wonderful as well!

We had talked about fishing Sunday afternoon but by the time we got the kid’s groceries and got home I was exhausted. I dozed a little on the couch while Zach did some stuff around the house and it was nice to spend Sunday afternoon as lazy as a cat. 🙂 Zach had to go do some work on a rental and I dragged myself off to the store to get our groceries and supplies for the week. We both got home just in time to change and head back to the church. We’re doing a 10 week study called The Bible: An Unsinkable Ship which is all about the veracity and reliability of the Bible. It was a GREAT class! I took tons of notes and learned so much. I am really looking forward to the next 9 weeks. It was a joint dinner preparation kind of night when we got home and Zach and I got to work on Agnolotti with Artichoke Sauce, torn out of a Food Network magazine. Although technically ours was ravioli with artichoke sauce because we couldn’t find agnolotti anywhere! Zach chopped artichoke hearts while I zested a lemon for the first part of our dish.

IMG_5337 IMG_5336

In a skillet I combined half-and-half, artichoke, red pepper flakes, salt and a smashed garlic clove and simmered for 5 minutes. Added in frozen peas and cooked 5 minutes more.

IMG_5339

The cheese filled ravioli was boiling in another pot all the while. When the peas were cooked I took the skillet off the heat, removed the smashed garlic (which was like looking for a needle in a haystack since it was the same color as the artichoke!), then stirred in lemon zest and lemon juice. Zach tore up basil and they were the largest basil leaves I’ve ever had! Look at them in comparison to this lemon-

IMG_5338

The ravioli was tossed in the sauce and then we added parmesan cheese and the basil and it was ready for eating.

IMG_5340

Besides needing a little bit more red pepper flakes (we’re junkies) this was just right!

IMG_5341

Though neither one of us is obsessed with peas, we both agreed they were really good in this dish. In fact, everything was really good in this dish!

IMG_5342

We ate with Dexter then swung by Mom and Dad’s for some cream cheese peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies Mom had made. That capped off another weekend and we went to bed a little early to catch up on sleep!

Sunday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast -none
  • Lunch – 1/2 fries, 1/2 brunch burger, float
  • Supper – ravioli, 4 small cookies
Leave a Reply

