SAUSAGE & APPLES

6 Sep

I cooked more dinner! Haha Really though, this one was a HUGE winner. (It wanted to change winner to winery…does that tell you anything?) I made supper from The Treasury of Creative Cooking which I get more and more pleased with every time I use it. This was a meal Zach had picked out for the week called Sausage Apple Quiche. Like usual with me there were changes around the board though. First of all it wanted a pastry shell but we had a refrigerated pie crust in the fridge from when Zach made an apple pie with bacon (!!) while I was in Oregon so I decided to use that instead. I baked it in the oven per the pie crust directions and let it cool. Then I was supposed to be browning Italian pork sausage with onions in a skillet except the onion I had in the fridge went bad so I used shallots instead. Also we wanted to use turkey sausage to cut back on fat but had to buy breakfast turkey sausage as there was no Italian. So earlier in the morning Zach looks up how to make regular sausage have the flavoring of Italian sausage and he makes a spice mix with things like fennel, parsley and I don’t even know what else.

IMG_5266

Then he incorporated that into the turkey sausage and it sat in the fridge until I was ready to use it. I only needed half the amount so we still have half the sausage left to do something with. While the sausage and shallots were browning I grated cheddar cheese and whisked half & half, eggs and salt together in a bowl.

IMG_5268

I also peeled apples and shredded them on the grater, first time I have shredded apples for anything!

IMG_5267

Once the sausage was cooked I added the shredded apples plus lemon juice, sugar and red pepper flakes to the skillet and cooked just until the apple was tender. Everything cooled and then went into the pie crust in layers- first the sausage mix, then the cheese, then the egg mix.

IMG_5269 IMG_5270

Pop it in the fridge and it’s good to wait until later.

Exercise wise yesterday was gazelle, push-ups, some pull-up practice (getting back at it!) and then 30 minutes on the treadmill. I ran a mile, walked some, ran half a mile and walked the rest for 2.3 miles total. When I got back home all I had to do was pop my dish in the oven and let it cook for 35 minutes.

IMG_5271

This dish was near perfect. The only thing I would do differently is omit the sugar next time. I thought the apples made it sweet enough! I’d add a little more red pepper flake seasoning as well for even more of a kick but it was still so, so good.

IMG_5272

Zach’s seasoning mix turned out great- it tasted just like Italian sausage in there!

IMG_5273

We both had a piece plus seconds and I made a mental note that this quiche would be an awesome thing to take to a brunch sometime.

IMG_5275

After dinner we went to my grandma’s so that Zach could help her set up her modem. This actually meant Zach setting up the modem while I showed Grandma pictures of my PNW trip. 🙂 Our night ended in the most low-key Friday I’ve had in ages – a snack and Dexter. It was exactly what I wanted.

Friday’s food journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 slice bacon, banana w/PB
  • Lunch – veggie wrap
  • Supper – 1 1/2 pcs. quiche
  • Snack – 2 mini concretes (like tiny blizzards but from Culvers)

771.5/1,400 miles. 157/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

