CREAMY VEGETABLE CASSEROLE

19 Aug

Tomorrow evening I am flying out for Portland, Oregon. What in the world?!?!! I am beyond excited to see Christine, have adventures, be in a new part of the country and take in all the PNW has to offer! PNW stands for Pacific Northwest in case you didn’t know because I will probably be using that acronym a lot… 🙂 Monday is always busy anyway as the first day of the week + getting the house ready for Bible study but add getting ready for a 5-day cross-country trip on top of that and it was crazy! I did gazelle in the morning and interspersed with watching the kids I cleaned, prepped dinner and began getting things together to pack. Dinner came from a Taste of Home: Christmas 2009 cookbook (odd, I know) and I was able to do all of the getting ready part done at nap-time. I chopped broccoli, cauliflower and mushrooms to make Creamy Vegetable Casserole (though they called it something different online). The broccoli and cauliflower were steamed (I left out the baby carrots since we aren’t wild for cooked carrots) and set aside.

IMG_4301

In a large skillet I sautéed mushrooms in butter, stirred in flour, then added heavy cream, onion powder, white pepper (such a flavorful ingredient always!!) and chicken bouillon granules. Once this was boiling I stirred it consistently until it was thick, stirred in swiss cheese and then poured this over the broccoli and cauliflower in a baking dish. Yet again I had a meal in the fridge waiting to simply be popped in the oven during Bible study, so convenient!

At the gym I wanted to run so I got on a treadmill, ran a mile and then had to walk the rest of the 30 minutes. Why? I was SO sore from soccer! (In fact I still am today!!) I was sore in weird places that are never sore and it has me thinking that soccer is a great workout to incorporate because apparently I am using neglected muscles. I felt it through my core, my thighs and even my arms. Three cheers for soccer! 🙂 I did a total of 30 minutes (2.1 miles) and then came home to sweep before people showed up. This week Zach was able to show up (albeit a little late), so nice to have him at Bible study too. When I put my casserole in the oven I topped it  with crushed crackers and let it cook for the next 20 minutes. We ended our study a little early to pray for the persecuted church, a challenge my church is doing for the next 2 weeks. Did you know some 160,ooo+ Christians are die every year due to persecution? A sobering statistic to be sure. Once everyone left Zach and I dug in to the casserole.

IMG_4304

It was good!! The flavors really came through and I liked the swiss cheese in it quite a bit.

IMG_4303

We both had seconds. 🙂

IMG_4305

We turned on Dexter but turned it back off as soon as we finished eating, we had lots to do! A trip to the grocery, ran to Zach’s parents to print off my airplane ticket, out to Target then finally back home for relaxing for the last, oh, 45 minutes before bed. Busy busy! Today will be just as busy but I will also be remembering to pray for Zach’s grandma throughout the day as she has open-heart surgery this afternoon. Hoping all goes well!

Oh! I almost forgot! Yesterday at nap-time Zach showed up with a card, flowers and a treat and I had no idea why until I read the card.

IMG_4300

It was for my daycare anniversary!! It sneaks up on me every year and I had totally forgotten when it was but Zach reminded me that it had now been 6 years since I opened. I definitely can’t believe it’s been that long. I’ve watched over 27 kids in the past 6 years and my oldest one is now a junior higher! What a sweet guy for remembering. 🙂

744/1,400 miles. 153/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

