JUST FISH AND GREEN BEANS

7 Aug

My daycare feels so small right now! With all those kindergarteners gone and new kids not yet starting, it’s dare I say it, easy! Haha I am sure in just a couple of weeks things will be back to their usual levels of mayhem but currently it’s a nice break. Yesterday morning I did the gazelle and went to spin class after work. I was there for 74 minutes and I know I got a fantastic workout in BUT I forgot to look at the mileage on the bike. Grr. So I will count it as 21 miles (so 7 for my update) though it was probably well higher but since I don’t know for certain I am not giving myself any “extra” miles. No cheating on my stats!

During nap-time I, surprise surprise, prepped dinner. I made this bag of crushed cornflakes + salt + parmigiano reggiano cheese.

IMG_4060

And I trimmed green beans then tossed them with shallots + sea salt + pepper + olive oil (not a recipe, just out of my brain though I am sure there are hundreds of similar recipes!). There were some large green beans!

IMG_4058

After spin the green beans were spread out on parchment paper and put in the oven to roast.

IMG_4059

The bag was for fish! It was supposed to be an orange roughy recipe but apparently there is a shortage of orange roughy and we barely get any in Indiana at all. This led to me get a comparable fish, ocean perch. I coated my perch in an egg/almond milk wash before coating it with the cornflake mix. It baked in the oven as well and all of our food cooked while I showered quickly. An all around wonderful meal!!

IMG_4061

The green beans were very flavorful and I love them roasted in the oven like that.

IMG_4063

The coating on the fish was delicious and I liked the ocean perch despite the occasional small bone I came across. I was so hungry I had seconds of both green beans plus a very small second piece of fish!

IMG_4064

I ate solo and then kept a plate warm for Zach who ate when he got home late. Green beans aren’t always his favorite vegetable but he said he really enjoyed these too!

IMG_4062

We watched a little bit more of Downfall and like I’ve said it’s not a bad movie, it’s just taking us awhile to get through it. Much as with other historical movies my recent google searches are dominated with people/places/claims from the film. If you remember when we watched Hotel Rwanda I claimed that my google was full of words like “hutus” and “tutsis” and “rwandan genocide” and I’ve done this with almost any historically accurate movie we’ve watched. That’s one of the things I enjoy about seeing all these, it feeds my thirst for knowledge (especially knowledge of past events) and I always want to learn more! Currently my google researches have included “Himmler”, “Goebbels children”, “Hitler’s bunker” and “Traudl, Hitler’s secretary”. Always things to learn…

Wednesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – banana oatmeal
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – green beans, 2 pieces fish

700.5/1,400 miles.

2 Responses to “JUST FISH AND GREEN BEANS”

  1. sarahmariha August 7, 2014 at 11:55 pm #

    That meal looks great! Orange roughy populations are crashing due to overfishing, especially because it is very slow to breed and develop, so it’s definitely one to avoid anyway. Glad you were able to find an alternative for your recipe! Here’s a guide to ocean friendly fish for our region. http://www.seafoodwatch.org/cr/cr_seafoodwatch/content/media/MBA_SeafoodWatch_MidwestGuide.pdf

    • Jordan August 8, 2014 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks Sarah! The woman behind the counter mentioned overfishing. It’s tough to find trustworthy fish in the midwest sometimes…

Leave a Reply

