THE GORILLA HAS LANDED

6 Aug

I don’t know that I have ever used a muffin tin when fixing dinner before but now I think it is a great idea! Monday at nap-time I prepped dinner so that all I would have to do after Bible study was pop it in the oven. I was making Mini Asparagus and Gruyere Frittatas off a recipe I tore out of Shape magazine. For as fancy as they looked they were pretty simple! I whisked eggs + egg whites in a large bowl and added in salt, pepper, almond milk, thyme and gruyere cheese (the wallet buster!).

IMG_4047

In a pan a sautéed shallots and asparagus in a little oil then let it cool before combining with the egg mixture.

IMG_4051 IMG_4048

Pirate Jack likes to help in the kitchen. 🙂

IMG_4050

A 12-cup muffin tin was sprayed with cooking spray and I evenly distributed the mix into the pan and let it refrigerate the rest of the afternoon.

IMG_4052 IMG_4054

Monday morning I had done my gazelle and after work I did 30 minutes on the treadmill at a steep incline (1.89 miles). I also did lots of house cleaning just in time for Bible study people to show up minus Zach since soccer tryouts are this week. It’s about to get even busier around here… I popped my frittatas into the oven in the middle of our study so that when everyone left supper was ready to eat! Zach got home perfectly on time and walked in the door right as I was scooping the little minis out of their cups.

IMG_4055

Overall this dish gets a big A+. The seasoning is great, they were easy to make and assemble ahead of time, it makes a good amount, they tasted great and they are only 80 calories for a piece.

IMG_4056

The only dark spot was the asparagus. I love asparagus but these pieces were woody and chewy and NOT what you want asparagus to be. I’d make these again, but next time with broccoli!

IMG_4057

Also if you wanted to save money I definitely think any cheese could be used, it didn’t HAVE to be gruyere. A Culver’s snack and some Dexter made up the evening and I got to bed a little early.

Monday’s Food Journal (yes I am horribly sporadic at this):

  • Breakfast – fruit
  • Lunch – couscous
  • Supper – 3 asparagus frittatas, small sundae

Tuesday morning I did the gazelle and it was 2 of my boys last day of preschool before starting kindergarten. I have lost 4 kids now which means new kids starting up soon… I got so many sweet cards and gifts of appreciation from all of them and it helps reinforce why teaching these kids is so important! After work I did Maybe Mudder and I can say, for the first time with this new workout, it felt a little easier!! Yay that means I am finally getting some of my workout stamina/ability back post-vacation. About time… Zach was going to be gone all evening with soccer and I went to Mom and Dad’s for supper. I even had my camera sitting beside me at dinner and I was so hungry I forgot to take a picture! Tough Mudder made me ravenous. 🙂 Mom made a great meal though of zucchini, corn on the cob, taco pork chops, garlic bread and pickled cucumbers. Yum! I watched Bachelor in Paradise (trash tv at it’s finest…) before coming home just minutes before Zach. We went for a drive so we could catch up on each other’s days and we dropped a giant, stuffed gorilla off at a house. It was dropped on our porch literally months ago and we had no idea why. We found out recently it was a prank from someone at our church and had apparently been on several porches before ours. We were supposed to secretively drop it off somewhere else but we’d had it for 3 months without knowing this! Once we were clued in, we made the drop after dark, crouching below windows to stay hidden and giggling like children while we sprinted back to the car. It was fun. 🙂 Before I knew it we were reading in bed and closing out another day.

Tuesday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – yogurt w/strawberries
  • Lunch – leftover chili casserole (last of that)
  • Supper – 1 pc. garlic bread, corn, zucchini, cucumbers, pork chop

692/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

