INDIANA BEACH

29 Jul

This summer’s weekends are all flying by and the few that are left are almost all packed with plans!! I can’t believe it’s almost August already… Last weekend was spent at Indiana Beach with Mom and Dad and it was a fun one indeed. 🙂 Friday during the workday I did the gazelle, 20 minutes of yoga at nap-time and 150 jump rope rotations while the kids played outside at recess. I am thinking I may need to jump rope at recess more often, it’s such a great calorie torcher. Once the workday ended Zach and I threw stuff in the car, grabbed food to eat on the way (I made a salad) and we picked up Mom. Dad had already headed up to Monticello, IN (where Indiana beach is) earlier in the day and now we were all going to meet him. We drove there debating the Greek gods vs. the Roman gods and laughing about things like Mom’s poor hearing when she thought Zach said she was “stinky” when he actually said she was “sinking” into the backseat. Haha! We arrived at our “cabin” which was about what we expected it to be.

IMG_3706

It was old and run down and definitely nothing special but we were thankful that it was clean (mostly) and had air conditioning (we weren’t sure if it would)! We knew it wasn’t going to be all that nice but at least it was free! I affectionately referred to it as our concrete bunker since that’s kind of what it felt like inside. Our cabin was RIGHT next to a mini-coaster that reminded us of Vortex at King’s Island.

IMG_3707

We unpacked our stuff and walked over to the Rooftop Garden where Dad’s band, Swim Skinny, was playing. This band has been together for awhile and this summer they asked Dad if he would play gigs with them since he wasn’t playing in a band anymore. He’s “retired” from playing but does do fun gigs with this band now like playing on boats, at events and now at Indiana Beach. The view over Lake Shafer from the Rooftop Garden was pretty and we snagged a table early on in the night.

IMG_3711 IMG_3713

Zach and I shared a cannonball that gave us about 3 drinks apiece and it was a pretty good deal!

IMG_3722

I taught Zach how to play Speed with cards and we played round after round after round, we even taught Mom!

IMG_3725 IMG_3728

Dad came and visited with us during his breaks which weren’t all that often, and Mom got a small thing of nachos that we all shared. Zach and I decided to go and try to ride the gondola to see the views over the boardwalk but we found out you could only do that if you had a wristband so we decided to walk the boardwalk instead.

IMG_3733

 

IMG_3736

It reminded me of walking the boardwalk at Seaside Heights in New Jersey last summer. Everything is definitely dated and run down and I don’t think I would trust any of the rides but it’s fun to walk around and explore. We found an area where people were feeding these massive carp and they were all over the place!! I felt bad for them because they were just swimming over the top of each other opening and closing their mouths for food constantly.

IMG_3730

Poor, dumb fish. We listened to Dad play some more and danced a little before Zach and I went back and turned in for the night.

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – 1 slice of toast, apple w/PB
  • Lunch – 1 piece leftover black bean pizza
  • Supper – salad, chips, 3 drinks

Saturday morning Zach and I woke up to a gloomy, but not rainy day. It was supposed to rain all day but it never did! (Probably because we had the magic umbrella in the car.) While Mom and Dad went to McDonald’s for breakfast we ate some berries and set out for a run.

DSCF0922

We ran 4 miles around the place and it was the first time I’ve done 4 miles since Florida! It felt so great to get a good run in and it really wasn’t too difficult which was reassuring. We ran a 1.5 mile loop around the boardwalk and through the town a little and we did that twice then tacked on another mile. It is much hillier in Monticello and there was one realllly steep hill that Zach had us run up twice. It was crazy but good exercise. We also ran across a long bridge over Lake Shafer that offered good views of Indiana Beach.

DSCF0926 DSCF0927

Running in a new place is not only a good workout but it’s great for seeing the sights! Mom and Dad were back when we were done and had the disco lights on.

IMG_3746

Dad had brought these really fun lights from the music store where he works and we put on the iPod and danced to them some. 🙂 Then after sitting around the cabin a little the 4 of us set out on a walk. We did the same loop that Zach and I had been running so Mom and Dad could see all the sights too.

DSCF0934 DSCF0936

After that we changed and went to lunch at the Skyroom. It’s attached to the Rooftop Garden and it’s cool that it sits up high but that’s about the only good thing it has going for it.

IMG_3753

The menu didn’t look bad but the food was verrrry mediocre and much too pricey for what it was! I ordered a quesadilla burger that sounded really good in the description but was unfortunately extremely underwhelming.

IMG_3755 IMG_3757

My burger was overcooked and there wasn’t much to give it flavor. I ordered cole slaw as my side and actually only ate 2 or 3 bites of it. I like everything and I love cole slaw but it was seriously NOT GOOD. You know it’s not good if I leave most of a dish behind, especially since I was so hungry after our run! The only thing that I really enjoyed were Zach’s Irish Nachos (waffle fries with swiss and corned beef) so I had some of those. Oh well, at least we didn’t save that place for dinner like we were going to! We walked down the boardwalk to some open tables and played cards for awhile. Zach and I vs. Mom and Dad in a game of Nerts and we totally smashed them. 🙂 Next we went to the arcade area and Dad got a card for us to play some games. Dad vs. Zach in basketball…

IMG_3758 IMG_3764

Mom vs. me in basketball…

IMG_3769 IMG_3771

Me vs. Dad in air hockey…Zach vs. Dad at a racing game…

IMG_3775

Then we tried to do me vs. Zach in DDR but couldn’t figure out how to make it 2 player so Zach danced one song and I did like 5. I love DDR. 🙂 Every time I play it I remember how fun it is and what a great workout it is!! I was sweating by the time I was done. I would do it more at home for a workout but our pads don’t work too well anymore. When we’d exhausted all the games we wanted to do we went back to the cabin and danced to the disco lights some more. Those are so fun! Our next afternoon activity was a no brainer once Zach and I found out was nearby-

IMG_3777

Whyte Horse winery! We love visiting wineries and this was a new one for us. Especially since Monticello is so far away from anything else that we do I knew we needed to hit it when we had the chance. The four of us did a tasting and really enjoyed their wine and the surroundings.

IMG_3778 IMG_3780

The tasting room was inside an old house and it was really beautiful. Once we were done Mom and Dad got a bottle to drink there and we took it outside on the patio.

IMG_3783 IMG_3785

Once again it was looking rainy but the drops never fell! We didn’t last very long at the table, the vineyards with their awesome gazebo were calling our names.

IMG_3789 IMG_3792 IMG_3799 IMG_3802

Picture taking opportunities galore. 🙂

IMG_3804 IMG_3805 IMG_3807 IMG_3811 IMG_3817 IMG_3822 IMG_3826 IMG_3840 IMG_3843 IMG_3844

Oh what fun we have! We finished up our glasses while sitting around yet another cool area (the grounds at this winery are awesome) and played the story game and laughed and showed off our levels of flexibility which ended in me being braggy and doing yoga poses. 😉

IMG_3852 IMG_3854 IMG_3856 IMG_3857 IMG_3859

I wish this cool place was closer to home!!

IMG_3847 IMG_3861 IMG_3867

After our winery visit we changed and got ready for supper and headed to the Sportsman’s Inn. It was packed but luckily we got seated pretty quickly and could see the beautiful river out the windows.

IMG_3872 IMG_3874 IMG_3877

This place looked really fancy and the food was very good but their prices were incredibly reasonable- great all around! For dinner I ordered their special chicken cordon bleu that came with a salad, a baked potato, a roll and mixed veggies.

IMG_3882

I ate all my salad, passed the roll on to Dad and ate half of everything else. Leftovers got boxed up since it was such a huge meal and I ate the perfect amount of food. It was great too! As was Zach’s shrimp scampi linguini.

IMG_3881

It was a little too buttery for me but he loved it. We were glad to have found this good place in little Monticello. Dad had to go set up for the second night of playing when we got back and Zach, Mom and I played several rounds of 3-person Speed while drinking champagne before we went over to the Rooftop Garden for the second night in a row.

IMG_3891

Zach and I played some more cards, Mom and Zach played a few rounds too and then Zach and I played a long, serious game of pool. He ended up winning by just 1 ball but I was so close!

IMG_3894

Mom got us all a small thing of bacon cheese fries and then she and I went down on the boardwalk because there were supposed to be Saturday night fireworks.

IMG_3897 IMG_3902

We waited and waited and finally someone let us know that there are usually fireworks but they were having “technical difficulties”. I said, “With the lighter and fuse?” Haha but seriously, technical difficulties? We think that’s code for “we don’t have enough money to have this show every week”. After all, it was a pretty rundown place overall.

IMG_3899

Ah well, we went back and listened to the band alllll night long. Zach and I danced the night away to song after song and that was so much fun. 🙂

IMG_3909 IMG_3927 IMG_3931

Family. 🙂

IMG_3916 IMG_3921 IMG_3918

We finally went back to the cabin when the band finished up at 1am and called it a successful night.

Saturday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – strawberries + blueberries
  • Lunch – waffle fries, quesadilla burger
  • Supper – salad, 1/2 veggies, 1/2 chx. cordon bleu, 1/2 baked potato, 2 cocktails
  • Extra – wine tasting + 1 glass, 2 glasses champagne, fries

This post is getting way too long so I will post about Sunday tomorrow! Also I added 2.5 miles to the mileage total of estimated walking for Saturday. I am sure it was actually a good deal more than that but without my Fitbit who knows? I know it was at least that much so I’m counting it!

670/1,400 miles. 134/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

