A SORT-OF SALAD

25 Jul

Well Wednesday followed in the same vein of not being all that productive. I did the gazelle but that was it for exercise and I didn’t eat terribly but I didn’t eat great either. The only notable thing about Wednesday really was that I taught Zach how to play cribbage! Haha but Thursday was much, much better so let’s talk about that. 🙂

Thursday morning I did the gazelle and then it was a busy day all day with the class. It was “beach day” so in the morning we had a sunglass fashion show and then after nap-time we had water day outside. It’s always a really fun day with the kiddos but a very labor-intensive one too. Imagine waking 10 kids up from nap and getting them all to the bathroom, changed into swimsuits, lathered in sunscreen, a whole backyard set up with water toys and games and sprinklers and it’s a lot of work! We had a good time though and I was glad the weather cooperated because the day before had not been that nice.

After work I knew I needed to put in some hard work so I gritted my teeth and pushed through a Maybe Mudder workout. It was difficult but also awesome at the same time. Near the end of the tough mudder workout I got dinner started. I was making “Lemony Asparagus and New Potatoes with Chicken” from Quick Soups, Simple Salads. I suppose this one counted as a “salad” and I had done some of the prep work at nap time.

IMG_3693 IMG_3695 IMG_3696 IMG_3697

I quartered new potatoes, chopped asparagus and created a dressing of sorts by mixing olive oil, fresh thyme, grated lemon peel and salt. When I was ready to fix dinner all I had to do was boil the potatoes, then add the asparagus until it was all cooked. I drained it and mixed in the chicken. It called for “deli-roast chicken” and I bought deli chicken that was roasted. When reading the cooking instructions I am pretty sure it actually wanted like a ROAST CHICKEN not deli meat, but I used what I had and it turned out so great I think I would make that happy mistake again! Haha! Tossed all of this in the dressing to make a beautiful, fresh, healthy meal.

IMG_3698

Did I mention it was a scrumptious one?

IMG_3700 IMG_3701

This was simple and filling and I would definitely make it again. I think it would make a good side dish at a party perhaps. I spent the evening with Netflix until Zach got home from soccer and I had to go to bed shortly after. But this weekend we have super fun plans! We take off after work to go to Indiana Beach for the weekend!! Dad’s band is playing at a roof-top lounge and we have a free cabin to stay in. Lots of memories to be made… 🙂

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – banana w/PB, 1 slice french toast (made with Ezekiel cinnamon raisin)
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – asparagus potato bowl

662/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

