IN INDY FOR THE NIGHT

22 Jul

The weekend was so crazy busy and then yesterday I was so crazy tired (a direct result of the busy weekend) that I now need to write a comprehensive post about the whole thing! So lets go back to Saturday morning when I went to yoga with my mother-in-law. One hour of yoga left no doubt in my mind that it had been a couple of months since I’d been in the yoga studio… It was awesome and wonderful while challenging and a little painful all at the same time. I loved it. 🙂 After yoga Vicki ran me around to several different real-estate properties. She and Ron buy foreclosures and Zach spends all his days (when he isn’t doing soccer stuff) working on absolutely everything you can imagine to get the houses ready to flip. It makes him quite a handy guy to have around. 😉 I got to see some brand new places that still need some work as well as a few houses I had seen before when they were in rough shape that are now ready to sell and they look great!

The initial Saturday plan was for Mom and I to go to the pool in the afternoon but by 12:30 it was still very gray and quite cool out. The weather was surreal really, it was more like October than July. So I ate a light lunch and went to the Greenway to get some cardio in. I ran the first half mile and then alternated walking and reading with running for a little over 2.5 miles. I was wanting to go longer but as I was running the sky magically started turning blue, the sun came out and it warmed up considerably! So instead of continuing on I ran for the car, called Mom and said “I’m going to the pool! You in?” She was. 🙂 We went over to the pool and while Vicki and Mom were talking I was uncovering the pool. I started pulling a plastic cover that I needed to shade the pool cover out of a little pool shed and suddenly felt a sharp pain on my left arm and yelped. Suddenly I was being stung and there were hornets EVERYwhere!! They all angrily flew out of the box and luckily flew away from us but only after I sustained 2 (possibly 3) stings on the upper part of my left bicep. It hurt and welted up a little but then didn’t cause me any more problems on Saturday (the next two days are another story). Vicki couldn’t stay and hang out but Mom and I laid out by the pool and soaked up as much sun as we could before the clouds moved back in.

Then it was time for me to shower and get ready to pick Zach up in Anderson and head to Indy for our date. While showering I very spontaneously decided that we should make a real night of it and get a hotel in downtown Indy and I found a decent deal on Priceline. I hurriedly threw together an overnight bag and left to get Zach, keeping this a surprise from him all the while. 🙂 We went to the Broad Ripple area first for dinner at Zest! Exciting Food Creations. Yes, that’s the name haha. This is an Indy Monthly place I have had my eye on for awhile and this is one we really, really loved. I was glad since we haven’t been as crazy about the last two Indy Monthly restaurants we’ve tried. I got a really fun cocktail that had one giant ice cube in it that I made last my whole meal.

IMG_3569

For dinner Zach ordered their short rib special of the night that came with polenta and rainbow chard.

IMG_3572

His meat was literally sliding off the bone it was so well cooked! Great flavors too. I got their “famous” (Guy Fieri from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives had it) 3-Napkin Burger that was loaded down with bbq, white cheddar, smoked gouda, creamy bleu cheese, applewood smoked bacon (from Smoking Goose, a local butcher), grilled red onion and a sesame bun. I got mac and cheese for my side.

IMG_3571

The mac and cheese was very good but my burger was divine! I would rename it the FIVE napkin burger though, it is a MESS. Or rather I was a mess. It was delicious and filling and Zach and I both boxed up half our dinners. We were filling up fast and we knew we had to save room for the creme brûlée french toast. What a dessert!

IMG_3573

The caramelized, cinnamon-sugar crust on the french toast was awesome and I ate my bites happily. I let Zach have the majority of it though as he was completely obsessed with this dessert! This whole meal was a good experience and there was a fun lounge next door that I would check out next time we went. This night though we had other plans.

At this point Zach still knew nothing about my little plot and we headed into downtown to grab a drink. We parked in a parking garage that little did Zach know was about 7 blocks from our hotel and was just $10 for overnight parking (hence why I picked it since our hotel charged $29 a night, hate that downtown hotels charge so much to park!!). We walked to a place called Howl at the Moon that is a dueling piano bar and grabbed seats on the upper level watching the musicians.

IMG_3574

It was a really fun joint to get a drink and watch the two pianists go back and forth playing and singing whatever requests they are given. They were very talented! We hung out here for awhile and it was right around when Zach was saying no more drinks for him since he had to drive us home that I let him no that “No”, in fact he “wouldn’t be driving at all” since we were staying downtown!!

IMG_3575

He was shocked and then excited and I was so glad to make his night. 🙂 We may have just gotten home from vacation but it was a vacation during which we were rarely alone so it was fun to have a special little trip just for the two of us. When we were done at Howl at the Moon we popped into a liquor store to get a bottle of champagne to take to our hotel. The wine room was downstairs and as we descended we found out that this location actually used to be a bank and the whole vault was still downstairs and they now used it for wine! It was so cool seeing the huge door swung open and being able to go inside a bank vault. Then we walked the good distance (we walked a LOT this night, in fact even though I don’t have a Fitbit I am going to chalk it up as at LEAST 3 miles of walking to add to the mileage though it was most likely even more because we walked allll over the city) to our hotel, the Westin. We had a nice room with a really cool shower that we decided to try out.

IMG_3579 IMG_3581 IMG_3584

We hung around our room for a little while then ventured back out. Did I mention that there were TONS and tons of cops absolutely everywhere downtown? When Zach and I first got there he commented there must be a “cop convention” or something haha. It turns out there was a black expo that weekend and the level of security was insane. We never saw anything happen though. We stopped in Wild Beaver next but it was completely dead minus a bachelorette party doing bad karaoke. So we joined a more middle-aged crowd at the Slippery Noodle (we prefer this crowd anyway because they are typically more mellow and less trying to party hard all night) and actually stayed here for quite awhile.

IMG_3592

We invented a game revolving around our past vacations that amused us a good deal. 🙂 After this we wanted to hunt down a late night snack and saw a diner open called Ike and Jonesy’s. We went in and saw the old-fashioned booths, checkered floor, long counter and yet…it wasn’t a diner. It was another bar! Haha it totally fooled us because it was set up just like a restaurant. We ducked back out and found a Steak n’ Shake, waited in a to go line forever for cheese fries, then took them back to our hotel and chowed down. We stopped to take some pictures outside the hotel first though.

IMG_3605 IMG_3609 IMG_3611 IMG_3602

Bed time – 3am, Wake -up time -11am. We had SUCH a fun time together just the two of us. I was glad for our little getaway. 🙂

I was going to write about Sunday next but this post is too long!! I’ll tack it on tomorrow.

653/1,400 miles. 130/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

