BLACK BEAN TACO PIZZA

19 Jul

Well besides having one thing left to send in, inspection went perfectly yesterday! My licensing agent was very impressed with the daycare and that always makes me feel proud. 🙂 She said it was a relief to be in such a quality, organized one after so many that are barely doing enough to stay open. I did my gazelle in the morning still, had a good Friday with a smaller group of kids and then ran to the gym after work. It was nice to run to my gym again! When I got there I just did a couple of circuits on a leg machine, a couple of rounds on the monkey bars and then ran back home for 2.6 miles total.

I picked up Mom after my workout and brought her back to my house to fix her dinner. Both our men were working so it was girl’s night. During nap time I had shredded cheese, chopped tomatoes and chopped green onion. Those ingredients along with green chiles, black beans and taco sauce were to make Black Bean Taco Pizza from a Taste of Home: Healthy Cooking magazine.

IMG_3555

 

The only thing I did differently was instead of making the crust they suggested I used a pre-packaged whole wheat crust I had in the pantry. I assembled my pizza-

IMG_3556 IMG_3557

Then baked it in the oven for 10 minutes at 450. While that cooked I sliced up a zucchini Mom brought over and sautéed it. It was seasoned simply with just salt and pepper. The pizza came out beautiful and melty and we were ready to eat!

IMG_3558

Not pictured were the “breadsticks” I made. I thawed calzone dough from the freezer, rolled it into strips, seasoned with a little garlic salt and baked in the oven. I ate a small one of those with my meal.

IMG_3559

This pizza was unique and very good. I loved all the flavorful vegetables on it (not to mention the gooey cheese)! I am always happy when I eat things like this that I like beans now for the most part. They really are so good for you. In fact, the whole pizza was very good for us! I can’t wait for Zach to get to eat some leftovers and try it. 🙂

IMG_3560

After dinner it was game time and Mom and I played Cribbage again and this time I won! I really like that game. I need to teach Zach now…although on second thought he always beats me when he gets good at something so we’ll see. Bananagrams was next and Dad showed up shortly into the first round and joined us. Mom won and we played again and I won by building an awesome puzzle around “elevated”, “predator” and “yurt”. I like words. 🙂 We lit the really cool candle that they brought Zach and I back from their vacation and it was beautiful to watch.

IMG_3561 IMG_3563

After that I was on my own with just the company of One Tree Hill and my books. I finally went to bed just half an hour before Zach came home and I was glad to have him back. 🙂

Friday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – pancakes
  • Lunch – salad
  • Supper – zucchini, 1 slice pizza, 1 small breadstick, 1 glass wine

647.5/1,400 miles. 129.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

