MILLIONS OF LASAGNA RECIPES OUT THERE

15 Jul

I fixed dinner last night!!! And it felt so wonderful. 🙂 I had a crockpot meal all lined up from Best of Country Slow-Cooker Recipes and per usual that cookbook didn’t let me down. My slow-cooker lasagna was smelling great by the time I got off work and I was ready to get the gym done with and get home and eat. During the day I accomplished plenty also- gazelle, 40 push-ups, lots of cleaning, some daycare projects and prepping dinner during nap time. I cooked lean ground beef, onion and garlic together then drained it. Mixed it together with tomato sauce, tomato paste, salt, oregano and water and that made the meat sauce.

IMG_3542

 

Here is what happens when you want to quietly open a can of tomato paste at nap-time by using a hand opener instead of electric…

IMG_3540

Clearly I ended up having to use the electric one anyways.. In a separate bowl I made a cheese mixture out of mozzarella, parmesan and 1% cottage cheese.

IMG_3541

 

Then it went into the crockpot like this – layer of meat sauce, layer of no-cook lasagna noodles, layer of cheese mixture. Repeat 3 times. That was it then it cooked all day! At the gym I did 30 minutes on the treadmill running sprints for 2.43 miles. When I got home Zach was back from work and we dug into that dinner!

IMG_3543

I have made several versions of lasagna and I would put this one up there with the best. I really think one of the things that made it so tasty was using the cottage cheese as opposed to ricotta.

IMG_3544

We ate this while watching Dexter, our new show. 🙂 It was so delicious we both had seconds (although Zach’s first portion was about the size of two of mine!! haha).

IMG_3545

Zach had to leave around 8 to go have a beer club night with the guys and I took the opportunity to have alone time with One Tree Hill and a cupcake. It was pretty nice indeed. 🙂

Monday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – PB&J banana wrap
  • Lunch – Salad
  • Supper – 2 pcs. lasagna
  • Snack – cupcake

628/1,400 miles.

Leave a Reply

