VACATION DAY ONE AND TWO: THE ARRIVAL

6 Jul

This has definitely been the least I have blogged since I started this whole thing and I miss it! I am also feeling slightly overwhelmed at knowing just how much catching up I need to do over the next couple of weeks…yikes. So Zach and I are officially home and safe and I go back to work tomorrow. I am actually really looking forward to the routine and normalcy if not so much the work part. 😉 Though my routine will still be a bit off because life hasn’t quite calmed down yet! Zach leaves for soccer camp tomorrow and will be gone until Thursday evening. Hillary is spending the night with me tomorrow night, John and Heather (and baby Matilda!!) will get in on Wednesday and be staying here and Zach and I have a fun wedding to attend Saturday. Summer is never boring. 🙂 Let’s start talking about vacation though. We’ll go alllll the way back to:

Friday, June 20th. After my half day of work Zach and I packed up the car and headed to Hillary’s to grab her and then we hit the road!!

IMG_1749

 

Just minutes into our trip we literally had a chicken cross the road in front of us. We took this as a good omen. 🙂

IMG_1751

We drove and talked and were just basically excited as we went through small towns, counted painted chickens in one town, played car games and stared at every license plate we passed until we stopped for dinner about 6 hours into our trip.

IMG_1756

Subway it was! We set back out, Zach still driving and a little after 7 Hillary and I decided to try to get some sleep. I always drive some during a late-night shift and knew that I really needed to sleep before then. Hillary made fun of my sleep mask…

IMG_1762

But it helps block out light!! 🙂 Unfortunately I have never been great at sleeping in the car and the older I get the harder it becomes. I don’t think I slept at all over the next two hours but at least I had my eyes closed and rested some. Finally I pulled off the mask to watch the beautiful sunset we were having somewhere in Georgia.

IMG_1768

IMG_1763

Hillary was awake for this too as she couldn’t sleep either. We stayed up and talked a little bit then tried to sleep again. I got MAYBE a total of 1 hour of sleep, waking up about every 15 minutes to change positions. Finally at midnight I called it quits on trying to sleep and switched with Zach. He went in the back and fell asleep promptly because he can sleep anywhere and Hillary and I were way too awake for some reason and had fun in the front whisper-singing to the whole Wicked soundtrack and giggling about random things. I drove for a little over 3 hours and Zach and I switched again. The way that man can function on little to no sleep is amazing. Though really I was functioning on less sleep than him so maybe I am amazing too… Hillary and I dozed slightly over the next 2 hours and found ourselves unable to sleep and awake again by a little after 5am. So much for sleep. At least we were up to watch the sunrise over the Florida turnpike!

IMG_1772

We were unbelievably stoked to see palm trees! We had made incredible time with absolutely no incidents driving and we found ourselves pulling into Hillary’s grandma’s house at 7:30 in the morning. This was after a last minute visit to Wal-Mart because we had to buy a screwdriver but we made it! First things first we had to de-hurricane proof the house. This basically meant Zach going around and taking off all the hurricane shutters with the screwdriver and Hillary and I getting the things in the house uncovered, turning on the electricity and water, unpacking, etc.

IMG_1774

Zach promptly fell into a bed to sleep and Hillary and I, armed with a grocery list, set off for the market. We went to a really neat open-air market that had lots of fresh, local produce and we managed to stock up on the majority of things here.

IMG_1776 IMG_1777

Strawberries, lettuce, peppers, onions, apples, pineapple, tomatoes, carrots, broccoli, grapes and more! Who says you can’t eat healthy on vacation? 🙂 We had to run to Wal-Mart after the market to pick up a few more things like eggs, almond milk, bread and a few other things. All of these were to be our staples for breakfasts and lunches and then dinners out every evening. A good balance! When we got home we spent a good hour + organizing alllll our clothes and toiletries and such until we made the house home. Then we woke Zach up, packed a cooler, packed our beach bag and hit the beach!!!

DSCF0276 DSCF0280

It’s heaven seeing the ocean for the first time of a trip always. 🙂 What a sight! The water was so calm and SO clear too.

DSCF0282

This was good because we spent the majority of our time at the beach in the water because it was soooo hot every day. We would lay on our towels for a short bit…

DSCF0300

Then run down to the water to cool off for a long bit.

DSCF0285 DSCF0288 DSCF0294

It’s so great that we are all best friends who get along so well! After being in the ocean most of the day we headed onto our pier to Benny’s at the Beach-

DSCF0279

Benny’s is a little restaurant/bar that serves good but expensive drinks with a great view!

DSCF0304 DSCF0305 DSCF0308

We sat up on barstools overlooking the ocean and I was in vacation bliss mode. Amazing how good we were still feeling for Hillary and I having had a total of maybe 2 1/2 hours of sleep in the past 32 hours… We were at the beach around 3 hours before looming storm clouds and the sounds of thunder chased us away (the only storm of the whole trip might I add!!!!)

DSCF0311

We went back to the house and showered, waited out the rain, got ready for dinner and took some photos.

IMG_1783 IMG_1785 IMG_1786 IMG_1792

This day also happened to be Zach and I’s 6th wedding anniversary and I had a little surprise waiting for me when I opened the car door to go to dinner- an incredibly sweet card that he’d written all over and a remote clicker for my camera!!! I had been wanting a remote to take pictures for as long as I’ve loved cameras and I was beyond thrilled with this thoughtful gift. 🙂

IMG_1795

 

Every year on our anniversary I wear my earrings that I wore on our wedding day. This year was no exception. 🙂

IMG_1821

Dinner was at Havana Hideout. A cool cuban place where you sit outside until thatched roofs and have great food. We also had 2 for 1 sangrias!!

IMG_1802

Guy Fieri (from Diners, Drive-ins and Dives) has eaten here and they have his meal on the menu so Zach and I shared “what Guy got”. It had half a cuban sandwich, a fish taco and a pinonono.

IMG_1803 IMG_1804

It was all good but the pinonono won the prize. It was a ground beef mixture with onions, raisins and spices layered between grilled plantains and it was so excellent. We had fun sitting here talking, eating good food and trying to play some game where you toss a metal ring on a string over a hook. We weren’t too good at that… We also got some pictures trying to imitate a weird fountain.

IMG_1807

We were winding down by the time we finished eating so we decided to pick up a Redbox movie and take it back to the house to watch. When we got back to the house we walked in the front door, Zach held it open for me and what did my eyes behold?

IMG_1822

Six beautiful, pink roses for our 6th anniversary. Sitting beside them was a ceramic “Happy Anniversary” ornament,

IMG_1827

A box of truffles that Zach hand-picked from Hoffman’s Chocolates (a famous and amazing chocolate place down in West Palm Beach),

IMG_1824

Another box of assorted chocolates from Hoffman’s and the best gift of all…

IMG_1825

A real diamond and sapphire bracelet!! It was so gorgeous and I was SO surprised. I was not expecting anything else and Zach went above and beyond to make our anniversary special even while we were away from home. 🙂 What a wonderful, romantic man I married!

IMG_1832

The three of us settled in, Zach and I shared a few chocolates and we started our movie but we only made it half-way through before we were all ready to crash. It had been a long two days! We ended up going to bed at the late hour of 9pm. 🙂 It was exactly what we needed and we woke up very refreshed the next morning. But that’s for the next post…

Leave a Reply

