SALAD FOR DINNER

13 Jun

Down to the final, one-week countdown! We leave just 7 days from today. Actually 12:45pm today will be the counting down mark. From that point on, everything I do will be the “last” before vacation. Last Friday afternoon of work, last Saturday morning run (at home anyway), last Sunday shopping, etc. EEE!

Yesterday was full of great accomplishments and enjoyments! I did the gazelle in the morning and did 30 minutes of yoga at nap time. I repeated the yoga video that I did last Thursday because I liked it so well. Still good. 🙂 I was thrilled for blue skies + sunshine in the afternoon and made sure the kids got plenty of recess outdoors…even if the yard was a little muddy. Then after work I set out on the Greenway with a goal in mind- 4.5 mile run, no stopping. Mission accomplished!! I had to mentally coach myself sometimes and push myself on but I did it. 🙂 Unfortunately I have zero stats from my run. 😦 My Fitbit is reallllly starting to fritz out and half of my lcd screen doesn’t even show anymore and apparently it doesn’t show up outside at all. This meant that I had no clue whether I started an activity record or not. I pushed it a few times hoping to see something but nada. I took off running and hoped it was recording but alas, it was not. Oh well, at least I know my distance! (The Greenway has half mile stone markers so that’s how I know how far to run!)

When I got home I rested for a bit before I felt hungry enough to eat and then finally fixed dinner. Zach has two-a-days on Thursdays so it was just me for supper. Me and Hot and Sour Thai Beef Salad from Easy Dinners, Healthy Recipes. I had made the dressing at nap-time out of brown sugar, dried basil, lime juice, Tamari (low-sodium soy sauce), ginger and fresh mint leaves.

IMG_1585 IMG_1587

It smelled awesome! I also chopped up yellow peppers, garlic, jalapeño and cucumber.

IMG_1584

Once I was ready to start dinner I didn’t have too much left to do! I stir-fryed the garlic and jalapeño and cut up some top sirloin into small strips. Added the beef to the jalapeños and garlic and cooked just a few minutes until my meat was ready. I tossed the whole mixture with the yellow pepper and cucumber and poured the dressing into the hot skillet to boil for just a moment. Chopped up romaine and layered in my meat + veggies and dressing and it made a great dish!!

IMG_1588

I don’t usually fix salad for dinner, especially not a main dish salad as an entree but I really loved this. The beef was cooked perfectly, the homemade dressing was awesome and the mint from the dressing balanced out the heat from the jalapeños wonderfully!

IMG_1590

When Zach got home and ate this he said it tasted like something from an upscale Asian eatery and I agree that this salad is seriously restaurant worthy. Waaay better than my typical “throw in random veggies” salad that I always have for lunch. 🙂 I may have to start fixing salads more often…

IMG_1591

I went to bed shortly after Zach got home, I was beat! Thankful now that it’s Friday and I have some fun things I am looking forward to for this weekend. 🙂

Thursday’s Food Journal:

  • Breakfast – pancakes
  • Lunch – egg white scramble
  • Supper – beef salad

536.5/1,400 miles. 107.5/150 running miles.

Leave a Reply

